Making Indian Pancakes || Thosai/Dosa

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


My bestie is an amazing cook and when I went to visit her, she was in the midst of making some Thosai batter from scratch. Thosai is like rice flour pancakes. Of course, she poured some into a container and insisted I make it for the kids.

This batter requires overnight waiting time to ferment, and there is an art to pouring it into the pan and spreading it out.

I have watched my mother do this, I have watched it in restaurants, but this is the first time attempting it on my own. You think you'd be able to do it?

Hey, thank you for dropping in and hanging out.

Cheers,
sh33la


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

To view or trade BEER go to steem-engine.



Hey @kaerpediem, here is your BEER token. Enjoy it!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected and you have received an upvote from the Steemitmamas community account. Thank you for contributing great content!

This is a curation initiative supported by the @steem-hodler tribe

20180516_002249_0001.png

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for the encouragement and support :D

This post has been rewarded with an upvote from city trail as part of Neoxian City Curation program . We are glad to see you using #neoxian tag in your posts. If you still not in our discord, you can join our Discord Server for more goodies and giveaways.

Do you know that you can earn NEOXAG tokens as passive income by delegating to @neoxiancityvb. Here are some handy links for delegations: 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP. Read more about the bot in this post.

Thank you so much for the support 🙂

I have shared a few days ago how to make spicy pancakes. It's good to see you try your own way.
You don't have to use a spoon, just make the pancake butter a little less thick and roll your pan with hand to spread it. It makes a better version. :)
BTW This is my regular meal/snack.

I tried to look for your video, I'm not sure why, but I couldn't find it.

This recipe has been around for centuries, so I cannot claim it ...
I would like to though, hahaha... it is one of my most favourite Indian meals

Yes, true there are variations of it where you don't have to use the spoon, but where's the fun in that ;p
The traditional thosai must have it's "record" grooves :)

Thosai is your regular meal?
Oh, I'm surprised ... do you have them with the typical coconut chutneys that accompany them?
Do you also eat the steamed version, Idly?

Sorry for the late reply. And sorry it was actually a blog, not a video, I forget to mention specifically.
Here is the link of my post- https://steemit.com/food/@rem-steem/my-spicy-pancake-recipe

Yeah, I know the usage of the spoon on Dosa, but as I'm not a professional the output doesn't come out good. Rather the rolling the hand gives me a good result.

We don't eat Idly here in Bangladesh, but as you said the 'pancake' has a different version and we have our own type. ha ha ha ...

No worries :)
So silly of me... of course I should have checked your Steem Account too ...

I was worried about the outcome
But after the first two flops, the next one turned out pretty decent.. but of course, that's the one I didn't record haha

Perhaps someday you will show us the steamed version :D

Delicious, I tasted Dosa several times but never try to make it at home.. I guess not my cup of tea.. What you think should I try?

Yes, it is quite a bit of work and I have always opted for eating them out
And there's an art to making it just right
Furthermore it isn't very expensive to eat out
But my friend is a great cook and of course when you make it at home, you have a little more control on the ingredients you use and how you make them
I have been trying to cook at home more and eat out less

For something easy make Breakfast Egg Muffins ;)
They are yummy and the kids love them

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Thank you @diytube for the support ❤️

I only eat and won't do. Haha. But good you try it out! =)

Thosai and dip with dhal, our favourite. Or whatever roti, paratha ke, or roti canai or roti telur. Just the Malaysian way.

Until this I also just eat only hahaha
It is only because my friend gave me the batter I thought I'd do it
And I have also been meaning to learn how to do all of these so we can eat at home more
I am terrible with cooking and it is something I am just making an effort with of late

Yeah... the Malaysian way ❤️

I've never heard of rice pancakes!😅 I looked so delicious!
I just know the french crepes sweet or like main lunch pancakes. They also use a wooden stick to spread it out evenly.🤔

You are going to the Steemfest in Bangkok right? Do you know where you can buy the tickets😅

That's the best I could think of so those not from this region would have an idea
It is savoury though and it has other stuff but the bulk of it is rice
I think you can find them in Australia at Indian Restaurants
But according to my Dad who has tried, it is very expensive compared to here.... like almost 10 times the price and of course with the currency exchange that's times another 3 .... so that was the first and last he had it in Australia hahahaha

Oh, go to https://steemfest.com/
Prices are going up again ... not sure when...
Please if you are planning to get them... do it soon :)

Yay!!!! It would be great to meet up with you 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13