Talking About Audio & Thumbnails | dreamvlog #33 [DTubeDaily]

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Vlog #33 snap.jpg

In today's video I'm showing you the difference in audio quality between the built-in microphone of my Canon G7 X which I have been using in my previous videos and the ZOOM H1 handy recorder which I got a few days ago, both unedited.

It makes a humongous difference in my opinion. In general, I can say that in my office it seems like 99% of the background noise is gone with this recorder. I think the 90 Euros have been a great investment.

Thumbnail Tuning

Another thing that I have been working on this morning and last evening were my thumbnails. This was also on my list for some weeks now as I wasn't really satisfied with the readability of some of the titles.
Sometimes it didn't make a difference if I either chose a bright or a dark color for the title. Both weren't on some spots easy to read and that's why I needed to get some borders or something similar around the letters to get a better contrast.

But unfortunately, Canva which was the app I used so far to create all my thumbnails with wasn't able of this feature. Or at least I couldn't find it…
That's why I now switched completely to Pixelmator. It's a cheap but very strong photo editing app for Mac and I used it to add some shadows behind the font which should now make things a little bit easier to read. I also made some little adjustments besides that. I hope you like them!
I also realized that Pixelmator has much more features than Canva so I can be more creative with my thumbnails in the future as well.

That was my quick update for today.

If you enjoy my content and you don't want to miss the next video make sure to follow. Don't mind to upvote and resteem as well and what's most important…

…live your dream!

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The sound difference is huge! It's much clearer with the new mic.

I don't know if it's OK asking in the comments, but your video is kind of about this subject so hopefully you wouldn't mind:) Do you have any recommendations about video format for dtube? It's making some of my videos very pixeled and giving me HELL when trying to upload, so I'm wondering if there's an optimal frame rate or size.
Thanks!

Hello Ruth! In our group a lot of people are having issues with those pixelated videos since the DTube 0.7 update release. I hope the dev team will fix this soon.
@maneki-neko made a video where he recommended to render your videos already in 720p and upload this file to DTube. I haven't heard about issues with frame rates yet.

Yeah, hopefully they will fix it soon.
Thanks for the recommendation, I've been looking for a best practices documentation:)

The audio difference is huge! Night and day.

Actually the boarder is possible in Canva, it's just not obvious. You can add a rectangle and resize the rectangle around your image :)

Yeah, the difference is very big :) I didn‘t mean the borders around the whole picture. I meant around the letters to get a better contrast. I couldn‘t find those on Canva...

The sound is super smooth man and the thumbnails are indeed looking better :D

And You are You killing it! Loving Your energy... I still remember Your first video and look at You :D

Thank you, Sergio. I’m always looking out for things to improve. And there’s still a lot of stuff to work on to make the little perfectionist in me happy :D

ehehe maybe You need to let it go of the perfectionist and just me more relaxed... but nothing wrong with being perfectionist and also wanting to improve.... :D

Good job bro! @phototutorials is very proud of you! Sounds like it has a much better punch :)

Thank you. I really like the sound as well. I wish I could have had that on last Sunday’s video but hey, that means another cinematic video needs to be done ;)

Lots of circles, arrows & emojis. Works for me anyways. :P

Everybody has it’s own style ;) I’ve been using some emojis as well but not too often.

The sound is so great! 🙌🏼
Zooooom into great content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90