Aquaponics Water Quality Testing Tutorial

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hello my beautiful brothers and sisters of Steemit!

Today I created a video that is a short tutorial on how to use the API Freshwater master test kit and how to interpret your results. I go into some information on what you can do to correct issues in your system using vinegar to adjust ph down, or calcium carbonate to adjust ph up in your system. For water hardness issues you must perform water changes, using either a filtered water source or rain water. I will make another video addressing those issues. I recommend to Stay Away from city tap water for your Aquaponics system. You will have so many issues it's best to start with rain water by collecting it from a rain barrel and using it to get your system started.

You can find the API test kit at most pet stores or online great for aquarium systems and large aquaponics systems. https://www.petco.com/shop/en/petcostore/product/api-freshwater-master-test-kit

Here's a great resource that goes deeper in depth on what is happening in the Aquaponics nitrogen cycle. http://www.backyardaquaponics.com/information/the-nitrogen-cycle/

Here's the mirror on YouTube:

If you enjoy my content and efforts please consider the following ways to support me.

I have some homemade products for sale @ https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/thetinkertribe/ grab a homemade upcycled candle or a T-shirt hand pressed by a local friend.

Make a one time donation:

Contribute to my crowdfunding campaign for the Surthrival Trailer! https://fundition.io/#!/@makinstuff/ok49qt5zv

https://paypal.me/Gregmakinstuff

Sign up with my referral link to play Steemmonsters! I'm kinda addicted, join myself and others on the battlefield! Join me on the Battlefield!

If you have a friend that's looking to get started on Steemit they can get started immediately with a credit card through steem.ninja. You can do that with this link and support me as well
https://account.steem.ninja?ref=makinstuff

Bitcoin Addy: 15JkFZp7L9k62JSi5XvvEzmwe22Djv3ZX2

As always if you Follow, Upvote, and Re-steem it really helps me out as well!

Yours in liberty toward a brighter future, may the great creator bring peace and joy within your hearts, Greg @makinstuff

cropped-LogoV4.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



That's awesome, thanks @pennsif!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the fishes! Aquaponic systems are the shit! Just had a friend ask about it! Gonna send this his way!

They are pretty neat, Thank you brotato-chip! The poop is a great soil amendment for fruit trees and soil gardens too! Watch out Aquaponics can be addictive! :)

You get a maggot farm going and run hard and stick a few years of organic high protein fish food going?

Posted using Partiko Android

My end goal is to make my system as closed loop as possible. I'm looking at growing duckweed, spirulina, and black soilder fly larvae as a food source for the fish.

All very smart moves.

So not going to use kitchen scraps for a maggot farm? If I get going definitely doing one of those and then sell some fish food!

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah most definitely mayne, I'll use my kitchen scraps for the black soilder fly larvae.

I remember looking into aquaponics a while back. One day I want to get it going and this will be a good help. One day when I get some property I would love to create a big aquaponics system.
Thanks or sharing you knowledge and info with the rest of us.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you @jlsplatts, I am working to dial in this system and provide a good guide for folks looking to building a low cost diy system with found/scavenged components. My buddy @robbieolson has been the master of this that I have been learning a lot from. I'm trying to get him set up as a vendor to offer some .pdf guides through the https://homesteaderscoop.com/ He has a couple guides hes created that will help tons of folks know the fundamentals behind the systems and how to design an implement effective systems.

Those API master test kits are great value for money been using one for the last 9months on my freshwater aquarium and its still got loads of test fluid left.

Great vid keep up the great work

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @digitaldan, Yeah brother, I'm still learning a ton doing video editing with blackmagic da vinci resolve. Yeah they are definitely the way to go to understand what is happening with the biological processes happening in your system so you can take corrective actions. Like $30 for lots of tests will last you a really long time. I had to take several times at the beggining of my system until the nitrobacter really began to thrive I had issues with high alkalinity and had to use vinegar to bring the ph down for the bacteria to thrive. Once it got started everything was looking great and I haven't had to check the quality as much.

Mine was the same when set up, battling ammonia spikes so testing almost daily, tend to just test bi weekly now if that depending on the amount of water i change. Keep up the great work 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @makinstuff!

You just got a 0.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85