Slave History Museum, Calabar

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

41.4% of the 2,579,400 slaves that were sold to the English from Africa during the Trans-Atlantic slave trade era (1690-1807) were from the Bights of Benin and Biafra. Both in present day Nigeria.

Over the week I visited the old city of Calabar, and among the places I stopped by was the Slave History Museum where the relics of an ugly past are preserved.

The museum is situated by the Calabar River that was known as the "point of no return" where natives said final goodbye to an environment they had come to trust, goodbye to the known and familiar, and adieu to freedom.

Because of its proximity to the Atlantic Ocean, Calabar served as home to the colonial era that settled just after the slave era. I was in the home of the colonial regime that had a vantage view over what is now known as "Old Calabar." That too serves as a museum with some notable relics, including a vintage Velocette Motorbike that Hope Waddel allegedly rode. My friend told me that, though the tour guide didn't confirm the information.

Unfortunately, these were all camera-restricted areas and I can't share the many pictures that my photographic eye was able to preserve on the embedded memory stick in my brain. That's a thing ;-) But I will share a little bit. Youtube got even more butthurt as I used Kendrick Lamar's "King Kunta" soundtrack on the slideshow. They took it down in seconds. Thank God for Dtube!

Overall it was a fun trip, albeit emotional. The slave museum (largely deteriorated) offered a realistic recreation of the time. You could hear them wail as they were forced away from their homes.

Point of No Return was the final departing point of slaves that were exchanged for gin, bottles, mirrors and guns. Present day African elites haven't changed much from their ancestors, apparently.

Enjoy!

Video Created with GoPro Quik App

Sort:  

Nice mini history lesson here, I dig it. On the liberation side of things, I just recently went on a trip to Harper's Ferry, WV here in the USA and got an amazing look at the historic town there. If you are not familiar with "John Brown's raid" check it out. It is an amazing story of slaves and abolitionists coming together in an attempt to end slavery in the US. While their particular rebellion wasn't successful, it was the turning point in American society and marked the beginning of the end of the scourge of American slavery.

For sure I googled "John Brown's raid." I was apparently so fascinated by the story and went on a sharing spree that I forgot to respond to your comment. Nice months after I am here. Better late than never, they say. Lol. Thanks for stopping by, buddy.

I lived in calabar for many years and never tried to read about the name "Hope Waddell"... Thanks for leading me to read about this medical missionary....lovely!

Then the purpose of this post has been fulfilled ;-) Thanks for stopping by.

Wow this was a great video, and perfect song selection for it! 👌🏾

I’ll be honest, I’ve been on a journey to discover my ancestry because as a Black American that is adopted, I know very little about my immediate or distant origins. This definitely inspires me to share and learn about my history more. My wife just bought me the 23 and Me DNA Ancestry test because she knows I’ve been wanting to go deeper. I think I may post the results on Steemit. Thanks again for boldly sharing this history, even if it’s socially unsavory or unpopular.

That's awesome to know my post inspired you. Please share the results, on the off-chance that you are just my distant cousin in a far away land. Africa always loves and misses you. Your wife is lovely, regards to her. I am following your blog :)

Always informative; thank you very much!

Hi - This is a grimly fascinating topic... do you have a source for those stats at the head of the post? I'd be interested in knowing how they were worked out... there must have been a huge amount of source-digging to come up with those stats by numerous historians, they're so exact!

My "source" right now is the museum under discussion. As a major historic center, it has hosted tourists from all round the globe and I am sure among those have included people who had the power to object that claim if they had enough counter evidence. While posting this, I had to confirm the info by looking at the footage on my camera I had of that poster on the wall.

I must admit I was fascinated by the precision. It tallied the numbers from all the major slave ports from the Guinea to Ghana to Nigeria. Considering that this was a very elitist transaction at the time, it is really not surprising that they could have such information. I mean every cargo had to be declared with its contents.

Thanks for that - honestly, I wasn't questioning the validity of the information, just interested in knowing where it came from. You've answered that, cheers: official stats, which doesn't surprise me: the English have long had an obsession for record keeping.

Exactly! If I were to trust numbers, it would be one the English present :)

I hope there will be total liberation someday. I understand that images cannot tell much about this experience as the experience itself will play back that act in your brain even when you weren't a witness during the captive era. I've had a chance to visit the Cape Coast Castle in Ghana and stepping your feet in the dungeon tells a whole lot of stories, stories you wouldn't wanna hear or tell others, stories you wouldn't wanna create. I hope liberation embrace our minds.

Let's go back to get it. "None but ourselves can free our minds."

Yeah, Bob was right, he had an insight of where exactly is the spot of the itch.

Thanks for sharing the wonderful story
@misterakpan

You read it. You are the man! :)

good information and post follow

Have lived in Calabar for three year now.... But I haven't been to Calabar museum....with this post..... Am think am very wrong for not paying it a visit..
There will be a lot of lesson to learn from this ancient home.
Will pay it a visit.... Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56