Vlog | Easy & Epic Oyster Mushrooms: Passive Permaculture Gourmet

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Welcome to the weekend, fellow Steemians!

This morning as we went on a walk to see if the nearby bridges were under water from all this rain, Ini spied a delightful sight!

B28CAEE9-635E-4A8A-95BD-4408AEADFCE0.jpeg
Oyster mushrooms!

At our homestead, Mountain Jewel, we're allll about reducing workloads and increasing abundance of our harvests. We call this Passive Permaculture Gourmet. Read on to see what we mean!

Some of you may remember that we had visited a local organic mushroom production facility, bought some mushrooms there and brought home some "spent" mushroom logs.

These logs consist of myceliated (mushroom inoculated) sawdust made of millet and rye. We mulched with them by taking 10 minutes to unload them from the truck around the base of newly planted pecan trees, mulberries and wild false indigo shrubs. We had already mulched these trees with planar shavings from our local sawmill and that was all!

9D6118CD-FC83-451B-A33B-B3C2ABAC596A.jpeg

As mentioned above, it's been an incredibly rainy spring thus far and we were so blessed to see some fruits from the logs this morning! It is our hope that the mycelium will go further and inoculate into the planar shavings and continue coming back.

Let us just say however how happy this made us: I think you can see it in the video!!

5C2B0714-3742-48FE-8CD7-A412E63097EB.jpeg
Breakfast of spinach, eggs, and oyster mushrooms all from the land!

This is the basis of WHY WE LOVE PERMACULTURE. We set up systems that require little to no effort and take care of themselves. From this, we keep the roots of the trees/shrubs cool, supress weeds and retain moisture while building humus in the soil. Mushrooms on top of that are a WIN-WIN!

Just look at these delicious Oyster mushrooms that were FREE & required very little effort!!

DQmT3xjHwdKfTo7W9b7fFn7sagmnNimPBpySHuJiXU8pgVu_1680x8400.jpeg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thats awesome! I know there are wild edible mushrooms up here. Y'all just reminded me to look into what species of fungus I can cultivate up north. Thanks! I did hear the EXCITEMENT....

Hahaha 😁 awesome! Yes excited for you too! Which wild mushrooms do you like to hunt for?

How exciting! You guys are so blessed. All of your hard work is showing this spring! What a yummy breakfast! Those eggs and the spinach, wow!

Ya, truly reminds us to keep it up. Like a wee boost for us enjoying the passive mushrooms.

That is my kind of breakfast! Yum!

So ... you mulched around trees with the mushroom spores/sawdust? Can this be done around apple trees (any kind of trees)?

I have a small apple orchard and I need to pull back the grass/weed and then mulch the area. There are some cherry trees as well that I planted last year that need some ground cover. I'd love it to eventually be a forest floor but that grass is mighty hard to eradicate. We usually gather rotted logs and just crumble that up. If we could toss some mushroom cultures/spores in with the mulch ... that would be cool. I'm sure it's not that easy and I'll have to learn more about this - you've piqued my interest.

I should mention I could not watch the vlog. My connection is horrible. If I am asking questions you already address in your video I apologize.

No worries, we didn't addreee too much of the details in the vid. I would recommend this for your detour trees.

What we did was lay cardboard (not grass' best friend) around trees. Then we added spent mushroom logs (from local producer) with planer shavings. We do this 2-4" thick on all our trees, making sure the collar of tree isn't choked. It really is that easy. The key for us was getting spent logs that were fully colonized and oysters popped up.

Thanks so much! I am pretty eager to give this a shot. I found some wood chip based “habitat spawn” that's for seeding outdoor patches .. I think that along with the cardboard, some spent logs from the woods - I might pull this off. I've got an email out to the mushroom man to see what they suggest. Thank you so much for sharing this great idea and giving me some tips!

please keep us posted! sounds really cool!

I heard about permaculture about 5 years back and I was instantly in love.
I vowed to turn my property into a permaculture dream, when my nomadic ways decided to settle. I also have acquired a passion for foraging of all kinds, mycology being at the top.

Life has caused me to settle down a bit and this is the year I have decided to turn a piece of my urban setting into a place of abundance.

Your blogs are not only an inspiration, but very informative. Thank you for sharing your experiences.

I'll be giving that spam below another flag as well...Please all who visit, if you see someone selling votes or using your blog for self promotion, flag them. It is our responsibility to guide Steemit culture and being complacent, causes you to be complicit in the culture of greed and spam that exists.

So glad to hear it @notconvinced. We too had the dream for a while during our nomadic days. Happy to share info and inspiration, 2 infinite resources. The call to ground is strong and it's awesome you've answered it.

Excited to hear what beautiful things you create.

This so awesome. I am excited for you! We love mushrooms and would love to grow some here but it is so hot and dry and don't think we would be successful. We have even thought of building a cooler styled shed for growing things like mushrooms...

Hmmm, cooler shed for fungi sounds neat. They really are super special. A controlled environment might be a great way to grow them for you, although we're way more passive about cultivation. All the best in the fungal world.

Permaculture for the win! I am also a huge mushroom fan but have never grown them myself. Maybe when we settle into onto our property. Will you be sharing any oyster mushroom recipes? -Aimee

I love meeting fungal friends ;) one tip: if you plug oak with shiitake DONt use soy wax, ours got eaten by animals and we may have lost 50 logs :(.

Perhaps a recipe is in the cards, But anything with mushrooms butter and eggs sounds good to me.

Oh, that is a good tip. I can't believe you lost 50 logs! What a bummer. Mmm... Eggs, butter, and mushrooms sounds good to me. 😋 -Aimee

Very nice.
Most edible mushrooms are great tasting and very good for boosting your immune system, to keep you from getting sick.

Oyster mushrooms are so enthusiastic. You should have them for quite awhile, as long as they have something to feed on. I like that they can put on multiple flushes of mushrooms as long as weather conditions are right, too. Good eating! :D

Haha enthusiastic is one great way to talk about them for sure. Plus you're right, sooo tasty.

We're hoping for multiple flushes but are not sure how well the mycelium will run on the shavings. Time will tell. Hoping for an even longer fruiting cycle in the future.

  • Big Offer get it befoer Run out !
  • Limited offer for limited people.
    Get $0.10 upvote for 7 days on your every new post you make.
    and eveyday random 1 person will get $10 upvote.

We have exclusive cheap plan for everyone. Visit our site to learn more and join the limited time offer at: https://t.co/DfTISfi3rQ

no. please don't comment on my posts.

Spam will not be tolerated. I added a flag as well and your super low reputation would alert anyone with common sense that this tactic is not worthwhile. Cease and desist!

You are not welcome here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65