Steem Tribes Introduction

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hey everyone! @SumatraNate here.

If you are like me, you are excited to see all of the progress that is taking place on the Steem blockchain. One of my favorite advances within the larger Steem community is the introduction of Tribes (made available via Steem-Engine) and the upcoming release of Communities (made available through an upcoming hardfork).

Tribes and Communities are gathering places for people who share the same interest, goals, and vision. Mutual support takes places through content creation, authentic engagement, and rewards.

Steem Tribes and Communities are going to revolutionize social media, but if your experience has been anything like mine you can see how easy it is to break community protocol or lose out on an opportunity to earn.

I was experiencing growing pains as I learned more about all of the existing and emerging Tribes and Communities. I tried to find information andresources that would help me navigate the waters, but I could not find one place that gave me all of the information I needed. That is why I decided to start a project called SteemTribes.online.

SteemTribes.online is a website that:

  • Provides information about various Steem Tribes/Communities
  • Categorizes Tribes/Communities according to major themes

The worst way to announce yourself in a new community is to break the rules of engagement. On the Steem blockchain, tags are the way we identify the topics of our content and the communities we connect with. The problem is that many people do not understand the protocol, which results in the misuse of tags. And trust me, when you misuse a tag, your community will let you know about.

And there is nothing worse then missing out on an opportunity. When you don't use an appropriate tag it is like leaving free money and much needed support on the table. Without tags people don't know to stop by and leave their support.

I created SteemTribes.online because of my personal need. We all need to understand the theme and focuses of the various communities and how to engage those communities properly.

At present there are 10 tribes highlighted on SteemTribes.online, but in the coming weeks more Tribes and Communities will be added. I will be reaching out to tribe leaders in the coming days. But if you know of a community that should be on the SteemTribes website, please reach out to me so we can discuss adding them.

We are looking to add tribes that have:

– A strong community presence or the evidence of a growing community.
– A user interface for tribe members (either a website or dApp).
– Tokens available either on Steem-Engine or the upcoming SMT system.

The future looks for all of the tribes and the larger Steem community. Keep pressing forward and keep Steeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

!trdovoter 80

Congratulations @theguruasia, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @steemtribes!
@steemtribes got 7.65394200 TRDO & @theguruasia got 5.10262800 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Honored to have CTP up on SteemTribes man. Thank you so much for including us in there :)

@jongolson - I appreciate all you do for Steem and your tribe. Keep up the great work.

This post has been included in the latest edition of The Steem News - a compilation of the key news stories on the Steem blockchain.

Thanks for the mentions. Look forward to talking more on Tribe.Talk in a couple of hours.

Oh, I really experience it: not using the correct tag for my previous posts! Those posts could have earned a little bit more had I used the tag correctly.

I am sorry that you had that experience. Using the correct tags is important. I hope that SteemTribes.online can help many people avoid the mistakes we made.

Bookmarked. I was thinking about how new members would keep track of the ever-growing list of tribes and this resource fits the bill. I also like how you've linked to the tokens as well. You've done a great job. Keep it up! :)

Thank you for your kind words and support. I hope that SteemTribes.online can help many Steem members - both new and old alike.

Great idea @sumatranate!

I still see Steemians on the network that are making decent Steem rewards, and some of them are utilizing zero tribe tags! I make it a point to let users know when I see this, and some of them come on board, some of them don't. I won't over impose the idea, but I do hope that many of the "old school" steem cats will come to adopt tribes more willingly.

Oftentimes, I hear that people simply didn't know. Giving @steemtribes a follow, and will direct users to the account who I come across that want to find out more! 👍

As you said, I think a lot of it comes down to "I didn't know." People don't know what they don't know. Thanks for your interest in and support of @steemtribes. I hope SteemTribes.online will become an increasingly valuable resource.

Are these the same tribes that Steem Inc. and/or others were talking about? I heard that Steem was looking at adding something like Facebook Groups to Steemit. Is that what this is?

You are correct that Steemit.com will be adding "communities" to its user interface. This should be happening with the next hard fork. At that time, SMTs (tokens for these communities) will also be added.

At that time, I plan to track important information about those communities and tokens. At present, SteemTribes.online only lists information about tribes/communities that were created by Steem-Engine SCOT.

So in the future, I hope to have information on Steem communities that were initiated/created from either.

Yeah. Great. I checked out Steem Tribes Online. I went to the different sites, the different Steem apps. Brilliant. So, when is the next hard fork?

I was trying to find a definitive answer but could not find one. The best information I found is that developers want SMTs to be tested for about 3 months (source: https://steemit.com/tsp/@steem.marketing/the-steemit-podcast-interview-w-justinw-and-vandeberg which was written about 2 weeks ago). And SMTs are supposed to be delivered in the next HF (if I am not mistaken).

When they deliver the SMTs during next HF, will the tribes be integrated into Steemit for example? I'm asking because I see that the tribes have separate websites, apps, that you have to log into similar to how you log into Steemit, Busy, Dtube, Partiko, etc, separately. So, are the tribes supposed to be integrated so you don't have to log into each tribe or app separately? Is that the goal? Are the developers, etc, on the same page concerning that?

Tribes created via Steem-Engine will continue to remain separate. Tribes from Steem-Engines cost more but have more customizable options. SMTs/Communities coming from Steemit Inc will cost less from what I have heard and will offer fewer options and should require less technical knowledge to set up. But honestly, until they come out, there is still a lot that is unknown.

So, in other words, two different things. I like the idea of having different Steem apps like Busy, Steemit, Partiko, Dtube, etc. So, that's one thing. So, the thing would be to add a tribe feature into the code, the blockchain of Steem itself. I guess one of the challenges is in regards to the ability to moderate your own tribe like a person might moderate a Facebook group. So, I was reading a bit about that earlier. So, I guess it's a debate between whether tribe leaders should be able to delete comments, posts, threads, etc, on their tribes, or if they should only be allowed to hide all of that. Technically, I would vote for allowing them to hide the posts. But if it is hidden, then where would those posts be? Would they just want to keep hidden posts at the bottom of a tribe? Perhaps, they are all debating these types of questions right now. I've heard that blockchains either cannot or should not allow for comments and posts to be removed, that they stay in the blockchain forever. So, tribes could encourage people to chat more, meaning something closer to a chat room. But would they factor in RC Mana into that? If so, some people might run out of mana if they're commenting in the tribes too often.

So here are a few thoughts:

  • I am not sure if a tribe leader will be able to remove comments
  • Regardless of whether a tribe leader can remove a comment from their UI, it is still on the Steem blockchain. It can not be removed. It just might be hard to find.
  • I believe that RC credits will have to be shared across the various platforms and sites. I checked your totals and with your current RC you can comment over 100 times.
  • A lot of us have extra RC that we do not use. If I am not mistaken there will be a Delegation Pools being set up in the near future, which will let us pass long used RC for new users or be rented out.

Excellent will put this in Token Town!

Thanks for the support. I just joined Token Town on Discord.

Stop into the Token Town discord we have all the owners/Tribes here.

I joined earlier today. Thanks for the invite and the information.

Hi Nate, great idea. I am one of the founders of @steemterminal THE discord for new users and accounts on steemit. Maybe you can drop by and tell us more about your project

Thanks for the invite. I will be sure to stop b your discord channel. Can you please send me a link?

Offcourse https://discord.gg/KBccZv steemterminal and because we have mods / members from around the world there to welcome you when ever you arrive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61