Homemade Refried Beans!!!

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


So on accident we made some amazing re-fried beans. Here's the recipe! Never buy canned beans again!
You can also freeze the leftovers for a later date!

2 1/2 lbs. of Great White Northern Beans (rinsed not soaked)
1 large diced onion
7 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp garlic powder
9 hours on high in crockpot

Blend in food processor and add water if needed. Top with cheese, salt, and pepper if you want!!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the recipe...I have never tried to make my own!

Nice job

We call these Frijoles molida! And they are delicious! But with my crew, I never get to freeze any leftovers! We also do these with red beans and black beans for a change.

Speaking of red beans...did you ever get those red beans to soften up?!

A day later they finally softened. But it as weird. After we ate them once and I put the rest in the fridge, they were hard again! They were the strangest beans I ever had.

Looks delicious. So question: Is it the broth that turns them brown? Was curious why that happened.

That's what I'm thinking...it puzzled me as well :)

I've never used Great Northern beans to make it before! I bet they are super creamy! ❤

They are! So delicious!

So delicious! So Fun!

Worth the accident!

My husband has wanted to try making his own re-fried beans. I’m just thinking, nun-uh. I don’t need him eating foods that will give him an artsy-fartsy aftermath 😂

Honestly didn't bother anyone at all! These aren't musical beans 😂🎼

I figured all beans would be the same; good to know! Maybe I’ll give it a shot.

It's a great meatless entree! 😋

I still dream about the refried beans my dad used to make. His recipe is pretty similar, but instead of using an electric mixer he would put them in our cast iron skillet and mash them with a fork. It didn't get perfectly smooth and it also had an extra bit of flavor thrown in from being browned while mashing.

Wow! THat sounds amazing! I got a cast iron I'll try it!

looks like an amazing meal of champions would love to try some out for sure, good video, sincerely JR of Exciting World Cryptos

Thank you! Appreciate the comment!

You are a sweet heart person.so in accident you find a better things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01