Is the Steem Rewards System turning us into brown nosers?

in #dtubedaily6 years ago


Today a conversation in the DD channel in discord gave me the inspiration to do this video.

I often feel that the Steem Rewards system in general tends to make people filter what they think, in order to only express the positive side of the truth. Well… actually Social media is all about filtering the reality to only show what we want others to see. But I think that this phenomenon is more pronounced here in the Steem Blockchain because of the monetary rewards.

I see a lot of positivity everywhere I look, and that is great. I used to like that a lot, specially coming from Reddit and Facebook which are way more hostile social media. But the fact that it is kind of unusual to see people expressing their disagreement makes me feel like Steem is turning us into ass kissers or brown nosers. Is it that we are scared of putting people against us? Are we terrified of flags or people stopping supporting us?

I think that criticism is key for growth. Lets say that a user uploads a video to Dtube that in my opinion is utter crap. If I say: “Amazing video kind sir, you nailed that. Those were the best invested 2 minutes in my entire life, and $80 is way too little you deserve $1000 for that heavenly piece of content” How does this helps the user? He will believe my bullshit and he wont feel the need to improve his content quality. If in the other hand I say something like: “You have some good points there man. May I give you an advice? Vertical videos look weird, try turning your phone horizontally for nicer looking results. ” I would prefer some polite criticism over straight ass kissing, anytime, any day of the week, but thats just me.

I feel like some people might take it personal and not really take criticism in the intended way, which is for self improvement.

What are you guys thoughts on this topic? Do you put a filter in what you express in the Steem platform? If you do so, why do you do it? Does any of you feel the same way I do? That there is a lot of ass kissing and little criticism? Please express your minds, criticize the shit out of me and point at any flaws/contradictions that you may spot in my speech.

Thanks a lot for watching and see you all in my next video!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your video is total shit man! :) On a real note, I think it is rarely the content, but the delivery of the message. The way in which things are communicated makes all the difference. If that is ass kissing, then so be it I suppose, but I tend to believe that I can give constructive criticism and deliver it in a friendly way. Example: I recently commented on someone's video and said, "I think your audio would be much better with some sound deadening material to absorb the echo" as opposed to saying, "your audio sounds terrible. You should fix that." Rarely in the content, almost always the delivery.

Text is fascinating since you truly can customise the experience to the reader with millimeter precision depending on what characters you decide to use

Certainly to some extent, however, different personalities/cultures will interpret those word differently; adding their own flavor of inflection and emotion that the writer just might not have intended. It can be a difficult thing to anticipate for a writer at times.

Yes when you are writing for the first time you will not know how they will react. But as you get more messages sent eventually you can build up a very clear view of how that specific person will react down to the millimeter if you use certain kind of words.

Sort of like we humans are Blockchains that verify information as it's coming in and can start to use pattern recognition to anticipate the future effect. Very skilful writers get so much feedback that they really can become skilful at trigger peoples by simple words.

Constructive criticism! Thats what I meant to say all the time, thanks for bringing it up.

I agree that in the written communication there is room for misunderstandings since the reader could be adding a tone or emotion that the one sending the message did not put there at all.

"I think your audio would be much better with some sound deadening material to absorb the echo"

That is a clear example of polite constructive criticism and I love seeing those around here.

Appreciate you watching and commenting @captainbob!

Brown nose mode...ON. Boy howdy, that's another great video! We've been searching high and low on DTube for astounding things, and this seemed to fit. We liked it. A lot. We even put it on the list of OneLoveDTube Video Picks of the day!


You can view all of our picks from May 19 here: OneLoveDTube Picks

If you want to find out more about how we support and encourage creators on the platform, please join us on the OneLoveDTube discord server and help share the love!
https://steemit.com/onelovedtube/@onelovedtube/onelovedtube-video-picks-of-the-day-may-19-2018

I straight up tell people constantly, "I can't stand sycophants." Guess what? Many don't come kissing my ass with a comment looking for a vote anymore. I don't care if they think I'm an asshole either.

I like your strategy man 😂😂

True story: I used to kiss your ass for an upvote back in June/July 2017 😞

Ha! And now you think I'm an asshole! LOL!

Time tells the real story about a human when you start to see their track record , time is very interesting in that way... Also very fascinating to study various people and how we can be very different

Well it is too complicated here. I think the most people are afraid to say their opinion and get flagged or downvoted. And as you said, there is money in the game, so people have only two choices! To be honest and say something positive or not say anything. Actually It is better this way, so nobody gets hurt in anyway and everybody is happy.
When you see all the whales war going on here, you think better be silent than get involved :( It doesnt mean that we remain silent for ever. I try to say my opinion with a friendly way whenever I get the chance. But never cross the limits :)

People are afraid of downvotes and donot really say what they actually want and just try to get the money.

You have a point. However, the invisible hand of the market is not an ass kisser.

If articles are not getting traction despite a creator having a large following, it means that the market has spoken and there is something about the content that is not pleasing people, no matter what some may be saying in the comments.

Rabindranath Tagore told in one of his writing that those who criticize my writings are my best friend, I can learn from them, where to improve.

Since I'm not very motivated by money, my behaviour on Steemit isn't affected much by the upvote system.

I was just talking about this the other day @dontstopmenow haha. "Vertical videos look weird, try turning your phone horizontally for nicer looking results." <--- so funny you say that, because that's actually the first piece of advice I remember getting when I made my first video ever!

I'll never forget that advice and I LOVE the steemian who told me that for offering his pro tips for free. Haha I'm STILL excited that he told me that!

I love constructive criticism though. Especially if people are nice about it. My end goal is just to provide better and better content. I totally agree with you that lying about content wouldn't be helpful to anyone... but I have had people give me honest feedback on some ways I can improve my stuff and I REALLY appreciate it.

A photographer told me about the rule of thirds once. I upvoted him for telling me the truth, not downvoted! It was super helpful and much appreciated! I'm with you on that one 100% (or am I just saying that to be a brown noser? haha jk)

Constructive criticism must be always possible and is very valuable for the subject. It can be used in a positive manner and is recognized as help and improvement potential. There is a big difference to destructive criticism (i call it so) which is devastating to the subject. The latter is not solution oriented like "What f***** bullshit is this?! You retard!" Unfriendly, harsh and insulting, such attacks let no room for a solution or any positivity. It drags anyone down like a sea anchor in the surrounding of such negative person. It's very hard even for very positive people to withstand such behaviour with positivity and it is killing any creativity.

Basically I like the etiquette or positive sentiment on Steemit because if people are acting honestly it can be a fantastic environment for solution oriented discussion. But we all know there are these comments with always the platitudes, maybe generated by comment rotators, maybe not to be the most cheesy, slimy person.. without knowing that the author could think that.. but often it's obvious.. maybe first the author is flattered but with second and third comment in the same manner, even the same text it's often disguisting and annoying because you feel betrayed.

Positivity can push people forward with enthusiasm not by fear and anger. But i admit in life there are situations which need much courage to tell someone the unpleasant truth to stop the bleeding and find a solution. But what's important, also in these situations there is always something good, a learning experience or whatever for both.. the attitude how i handle even such unpleasant situations is decisivie in my point of view for the outcome or how effective i get a solution and take people with me and not pushing them away.. constructive criticism falls just on fruitful ground if the subject is open minded, it needs both sides.. maybe the critic is so convincing and positive and can even change a negative person into something better.. my personal experience, but that needs much energy.

I wrote also about the good and evil kings on Steemit, because with much Steem Power there comes a lot of responsibility and power! My criticism was that such power can create dishonest devotees if they fear a flag or downvote and even i with almost 58 of reputation think from time to time what if another Steemian with reputation over 70 hates me.. what if he starts a flagging war.. which words should i choose. It influences people that is for sure, the question is to which degree not to bend the truth?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28