How do you explain what Crypto is to somebody that has never heard about it?

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


What`s up Dtubers?? Hope you are having a great day/night/morning wherever you are!

In this vlog I talk about something that I have been struggling with: Trying to make the people around me understand what the Crypto Market is and how it (basically) works.
There is a lot of skepticism from the ones that have no clue what Crypto means, many will say its a scam, others will say “be careful” and lots of others will think that I am crazy putting all my time and energy into this. I totally respect their points and thoughts, but I would love to be able to open their eyes and at least make them understand a bit how this all works. And don`t get me wrong, I am not trying to get them to BELIEVE in crypto, hell no, I just want them to at least get my points on why it think there is a very bright future in this market.

I wonder if you guys are going through the same and if any of you has come up with a simple and easy way to explain Crypto to a complete newcomer, I would HIGHLY appreciate if you shared that with me :D

With that being said... I hope you enjoy the video and thanks a lot for watching!

Music: Barabass & The Happy Few - Luca Rossi


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Hey (insert family member/friend) I have my own video production channel that nets me crypto currency. I can convert that crypto currency into (insert FIAT currency). The way I can earn even more money with this is, by you supporting me and being active in the Steemit community. The larger and more active this social media platform is, the more profitable it is for successful content creators. I can show you how to setup your own account in just 5 minutes. Believe me, its going to replace youtube and facebook!

This is actually really good. Simple terminology, not too pretentious and straight to the point, love it!

Thanks!

I tell them its a parallel world that has everything the same as in the world they live in then compare more ex.
bitcoin = usd
steem = thai baht
steemit = reddit
busy = facebook
steepshot = ig

blah di blahhh long story

then they think I'm crazy so... LOLOLOL

You missed:
Dtube = Youtube
DLive = Twitch
DSound = Soundcloud

Kob Kun Krab Mo! 😊😊

I didn't miss it. I used blah di blah so that I didn't rambling so much hahaha

Lot's of people look at cryptocurrency as something scary or that it's just a bubble that will go away. However, I agree that it is important to educate people with what the cryptocurrency market actually is. The thing is that it's hard to find the truth among all the news in media. People have to make the effort to find the right information. I think it's all about taking baby steps. Explaining the crypto-market in small crowds, with terms that are easy to explain and then the information can scale up. Like making presentations in meetups and having the goal that each member brings a person with them to whom they can teach cryptocurrency, that can be an idea! Or visiting schools and offering small conferences too. It's all about educating and making it as simple as possible to understand.

Haha! I tried to do it to someone who doesn't know anything about Bitcoin, Crypto or Blockchain and I looked like a scammer to him. Well it could be different if I show him actual proofs and not just verbal stories because it's so good to be true! Facts is stranger than fiction right?

Yeah it is pretty tough to explain to someone that isn't tech savvy. I just try to say computer-based assets that can be traded. May not be technically accurate, but I think it gets the general point across.

Computer-based assets that can be traded.

I like it! Simple and effective.

I feel the same, some people give me the looks sometimes, like I´m trying to rip them off, or like I´m really naive and that I fell for this crypto scam. Oh well... Like @acidyo says, in a few years the ones that are not listening now will come and say: "bro why didn`t you tell me before" 🤦‍♂

I don't try to explain it anymore :)

LOL I know exactly what you mean. I lack the patience to do it, but I try... with little to no success tho.

I tried many times,but failed. People just keeps them in their own familiar lifestyles, dreaming to get rich but feared to embrace the tide of the future. Why people live totally different lives? They key is they think differently, some of them reject something emotionally, without studying or reasoning.

That's not an easy cat to bell.... I can't even explain it enough to myself

I know... I have a hard time tryong to understand it all myself too.

Yeah, that's right

Lol, I’ve had this experience of trying to explain this to my people at my highschool

It is quite an experience huh?

The most common line I get is: "I would first try to cash some money out"

LOL

Oh dude they don't understand if you try a thousand times.
They only think it's some scam.
When you tell them that the rewards are good and your don't necessarily need to put your money in this, just your time. People try to find interest in this. Hahahaha. Lol. It's hilarious

Well the governments want people to think, that cryptocurrency isn't viable, so they won't let people free themselves from moneys grasp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87