DTube Vlog: Learning Air Pressure and Friction | Made A Hovercraft at Home!

in #dtubedaily5 years ago (edited)


Hello everyone!!! How have you been?

Greetings to you! Today, @littledrummerboy and I are feeling much better and more like ourselves. At least for me, though I am still a bit weak, I don't feel like a piece of meat lying around, haha.

Okay, air pressure is something I recently tutored my student about too in her Physics. I remember her exam paper had a question of explaining how a hovercraft operates. It's something very foreign to her as she doesn't know what a hovercraft is. My son knew it from Paw Patrol, as Zuma's vehicle is a hovercraft. I found this super easy to make experiment, so I thought I want to try with him at home first and perhaps bring what we have built to my student asked I explain to her the next time.

Just a little reference from www.sciencebuddies.org:

A hovercraft is a vehicle that glides over a smooth surface by hovering upon an air cushion. Because of this, a hovercraft is also called an Air-Cushion Vehicle, or ACV. How is the air cushion made? The hovercraft creates vents or currents of slow-moving, low-pressure air that are pushed downward against the surface below the hovercraft. Modern ACVs often have propellers on top that create the air currents. These currents are pushed beneath the vehicle with the use of fans. Surrounding the base of the ACV is a flexible skirt, also called the curtain, which traps the air currents, keeping them underneath the hovercraft. These trapped air currents can create an air cushion on any smooth surface, land or water! Source

This works based on the principle of air pressure, aerodynamics and also friction reduce to ensure a smooth gliding. It is educational and not too difficult to achieve.

When I was younger, I actually wish I can do more of such things at home but I wasn't that resourceful then. Having watched some of the videos online now and how possible to actually recreate them, I am getting more enthusiastic of sharing simple experiments like this. Let me know if you would like to see more. Hope you enjoyed this video.

Always appreciate your time for watching even though I am not a pro in this yet. I am thankful to @dtube and @nathanmars for making all this possible that even one small tiny person like me can actually relive some of my passion and kicking start again. I promise to improve better in filming and editing as well. Got a new Boya lapel mic too, hopefully the sound is better now. Do you prefer a song in the background to go with it?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thank you for sharing, I hope you are as healthy as before.happy dtubing

Thank you for your kind wishes, @armia :)

That looks like some fun learning with @littledrummerboy
Glad that you are all feeling better :)

Yeah like finally feeling better!!! But I am still not as active as before yet. I have other symptoms endure now, I get giddy after I look at the screen too long Hahah. Thanks @kaerpediem for coming by! :)

Don't push yourself too hard
Especially now ;)

I do not know how to do this but it is a lovely post and so glad you do not feel like a piece of meat lying around.
Little old and will have to wait for a visit from my children to show me how to do this but very nice.

Yeah it's quite easy to be done so I am sure when your children come by, they may enjoy doing it too! Thanks for coming by @bigbear :)

Very cool and nice video showing how it all works.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Wah a hovercraft!

Haha yes. Fake one. Lol. I cannot sit in Hahah :P

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to happycrazycon! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

That's a pretty cool idea. I remember when I was young, I used to make one out of an old butter container, and a small servo motor. Worked quite well, but often the battery would create too much weights, and the hovercraft wouldn't get enough air under it. Great fun though!!

Yours sound so super cool and elaborate @steveblucher!!! It even has a motor, I don't think I know how to build that. Yeah I guess the battery part is the tricky one Huh.

Not that amazing - just a motor I found in a different piece of technology. I always loved pulling apart whatever I could find!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65