Vlog #24 | Six Attempts Later, I Have Linux on My Chromebook! {<DtubeDaily>}

in #dtubedaily6 years ago


After spending nearly the entire day repeatedly failing at running Linux on my Chromebook I final succeed, YES! I put all of myself into this today and I feel like the effort will be so worth the benefits. I am trying to up my editing game so hopefully my computer will run Davinci Resolve now! I plan on making a tutorial of how this was accomplished so anyone out there that is in a similar position to me can up their editing game as well. Exciting things to come!! Cheers


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow, looks like the heat was a bigger problem than the install.

Been there done that, both the heat, and complicated linux installs.

Just not at the same time, for that is truly an accomplishment.

Subscribed!

Yeah man it was a scorcher of a day but had to get out on the bike before I punched a hole in my computer haha

Glad that my persistance paid of though. Still havn't gotten Davinci Resolve to run though. Really struggling with the Linux OS as I have not messed with it at all before this.

Do you use linux currently or was it more of a fun thing for you to play with?

Thanks for the follow my man! Will take a look at your posts here when I have a moment :)

Cheers!

I've got about 10 years of experience with Linux, but no experience with Davinci. (way above my pay grade)

I use Shotcut, for my craptacular videos.

You have accomplished the difficult task of installation, its usually much easier on a standard computer. Google hardware, like Apple and Microsoft doesn't always get along well with Linux.

What distro did you install, and what tutorial did you follow?

I am on a chromebook so I used crouton and installed xfce4 and i'm pretty certain the version is trusty.

This is the tutorial video I followed:

If its not running natively this is not ideal from a performance standpoint, but it might work well enough?

Trusty is pretty old, it may not be supported by Davinci.

Of course, since Davinci isn't "open source" you can't recompile it to make it work.

What’s a chroot?

Like virtualization, chroots provide the guest OS with their own, segregated file system to run in, allowing applications to run in a different binary environment from the host OS. Unlike virtualization, you are not booting a second OS; instead, the guest OS is running using the Chromium OS system. The benefit to this is that there is zero speed penalty since everything is run natively, and you aren’t wasting RAM to boot two OSes at the same time. The downside is that you must be running the correct chroot for your hardware, the software must be compatible with Chromium OS’s kernel, and machine resources are inextricably tied between the host Chromium OS and the guest OS. What this means is that while the chroot cannot directly access files outside of its view, it can access all of your hardware devices, including the entire contents of memory. A root exploit in your guest OS will essentially have unfettered access to the rest of Chromium OS.

Someone may have an answer here:

http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/

Massive amounts of help! Thanks for taking the time to give me such a detailed response brother. I will see if my answers can be found in the forum that you provided. Just have to keep plugging at it and hopefully something will work!

I have been messing around with chroots and trying to sort them out. Honestly it's majorly confusing to me. I am trying to reinstall a different version than trusty but because that chroot exists I have to get rid of it before I can install another version. This is the main thing I am trying to sort out right now. Can't find a way to get rid of the existing trusty chroot. I've tried formatting the computer and getting it out of developer mode which is suppose to clear everything but the chroot is still embedded somewhere.

Ugh, yeah, I learned long ago to check for Linux compatabilty before I make any hardware purchases, just to avoid the exact headaches you are encountering.

If I needed high end hardware for serious video editing, I would be considering something from here:

https://system76.com/

I would love to see you get your existing hardware to work, I probably would have thrown in the towel already.

The hardware I am running is most likely to under powered to be able to perform with these editing software so throwing in the towel is looking more and more like what will happen haha

I am an incredibly persistant person so I will end up going through every outlet and option before I fully give up. I like the challenge but sometimes one must recognize that there is a limitation to everything.

These laptops look pretty top notch from system 76. Might be something I look into on a deeper level once I make my way back to the States.

I hate having to install things using the command portal. I struggled similarly when I first started mining crypto, trying to get the miner installed on all of the computers. Happy you got it working in the end. Looking fwd to next level editing

Yeah man it is a total mess, especially if you do not fully understand what the code is even initiating haha

Thanks man! Super excited to start making some more professional looking content :)

Haha! 5 attempts!! That’s persistence man!!! Thanks for the awesome shoutout :D

Thanks for the motivation brother! Your grind makes me want to hustle even harder :)

Congratulations @maslowmission, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 3506 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1565.12. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Two of these in a week!!! WOAH, feeling like I'm actually getting good at this :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25