You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voting is important!

in #dtubesnap6 years ago

Ah, awesome! I'm of the mind on voting: if it doesn't work, it doesn't hurt, either. But also, I think it does work, because if it didn't, they wouldn't go to such lengths to boot people off the rolls, disenfranchise Native Americans (have you heard about that? In ND, they passed a new law that says you need a street address, not a PO box, on your ID to vote. But on reservations, they don't have street addresses, they have PO boxes. So it's pretty much aimed at disenfranchising Native Americans, you know, at Standing Rock!), cheat, superdelegates, keeping third parties from debates, hacking voting machines, making harder voter requirements like the ID thing, "losing" ballots so they don't get counted, spend mountains of money on elections and propaganda, etc., etc. And finally, in a midterm election, a lot of people stay home, so your vote counts more. Your vote also counts more in local races, because a lot of people only care about the big national ones. So, I vote. But I'm still working on mine - I have a lot of reading to do and haven't had much focus to do it. I'll have to drop my ballot off at a ballot box in a couple days when I'm done.

Sort:  

I have been following this and it is crazy! Going on all over the place - everywhere, it is directed against people of color.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61231.91
ETH 2966.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47