#earthdeeds - Transforming Plastic Waste Into Ecobricks

in #earthdeeds6 years ago


Greetings Steemazoids!

Today, I want to share a simple thing that we are doing at home to massively reduce the impact of plastic waste. (Well, massively, relative to the waste we create!)

This is my entry to the #earthdeeds and #tribevibes contest.

We are conscious of using as little plastic as possible. However, we still generate plastic waste.

In this vlog, I show you how to make an Ecobrick (Not earthbrick, as I say in the video!).

As a minimum, this significantly compresses plastic waste and means that it has much less environmental impact.

To give you an idea, that bottle in the picture contains over 3 weeks worth of flimsy plastic waste!

However, it's actually much better than that. These ecobricks are being used as a building material in many different ways.

I have to say that this was started off by my partner, @startreat, so I wasn't totally aware of what is going on with these ecobricks, even up until creating this post.

In fact, there is a whole movement showing how you can make and use these ecobricks!

You can find out about it and many different ways to use them in building projects, creating furniture etc at this website - https://www.ecobricks.org

And, I just found out that there is a STEEM account about Ecobricks, that you can see here - @ecobricks

This is a genuine step that you can take to solve the problems with plastic. Individually and without appealing to gub'ment to help you.

And, it seems like many people are already doing it!

Here's to grass roots solutions!

Sam x
EFTNow


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Is it possible to make such waste effective for the earth?

I think it's one positive way.
But in the end, the most effective is environmental awareness

I don't really know what you mean by that.

That's actually pretty smart Sam :)

I haven't seen this until now.

Yeah, it was new to me until 3 weeks ago. Good, innit?

Definitely.

Ah that's a good one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed. Simple and could be done by every family, without much effort.

Hi @eftnow!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.867 which ranks you at #4137 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4138).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #145.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks as always!

Ok, this is absolutely amazing, and you video extremely entertaining, what a great #EarthDeeds post. Thank you for the resource links about the eco-bricks. I will be looking into whether a group here in Portland, Oregon uses these for building. It seems like something that would be hapening here.

Thanks dude. I enjoyed this one and it got me to look into it some more as well. From what I know about the place, it would fit in well in Portland. I think this is something that many people would be happy to do if they knew about it.

I can almost guarantee you that a few people already are here. Portlanders do all kinds of eco-conscious conservation things like this.

Awesome #EarthDeed and we believe someday, an efficient technology for plastic recycling would be discovered and all the ecobricks sent back to recycling. Its really an awesome way to deal with plastic waste.

Thanks @thegreens - I share your optimism. Have you heard about the various plastic eating fungi that are being discovered? I mentioned them in some podcasts I did a while back - https://steemit.com/dsound/@eftnow/20180925t100918010z-ms58-mushroom-cleanup-crew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94