You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What does it mean to own your emotions? @ecoTrain question of the week

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Good thought provoking post, here is my take.

I feel that that saying "owning your emotions" is hugely subjective and moreover, the definition is constructed by your upbringing, both culturally and the friends you choose roll with.

I would say parents are crucial, but I have two children and all you can do is try to instill good morals (again subjective) at a young age and then hope these will guide them through the final stage or their journey, peer pressure.

An example, my eldest son will lose his temper and then blame his actions on the person who angered him. A regular response I give is

That is complete nonsense, who controls your body, who commands your mind.

I try to remind him that the body is merely a vehicle used to power to mind. If I cut off your arm, you are still you, same goes for any limp, but if your mind becomes corrupt, you are no longer the same person.

Why do I think this is relevant. Self-control is key to managing your emotions, offense by definition will be taken and never given. You can choose to take offense and react in an emotional (which generally results in an illogical way), or you can not let them win and responded victoriously. Now, I am not saying to ignore them; people are allowed to say what they want, but they must also understand that a response will be delivered.

There is a fine line between passion and aggression, make sure you understand where the line starts or stops and do not let trolls make you react in a way that is ultimately detrimental to you.

I am not saying I am right regarding any of the above, this is just the way I handle situations when individuals "trigger" an emotion​ from within.

Sort:  

thanks for you inputs here @aclarkuk82, you sound like a Great parent.. it is NO easy task!!! wow

Agreed, where is this handbook everyone talks about :-s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90