You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part III

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I really really enjoyed reading this @solarsupermama! I have been homeschooling for 7 years and have heard about unschooling for quite some time. I was always afraid that if I didn’t have a curriculum for my kids that I wouldn’t be disciplined enough to do unschooling. I just wasn’t for sure if my kids would learn enough without a curriculum. I really love how you explained that children need their time alone to process their thoughts and to explore the world without our opinions/instructions sometimes.

I do know for sure that they learn from experience and doing things hands on. I love the freedom and safety that homeschool gives us. Our schools here are full of violent children and teachers that are afraid to discipline them. We wanted our children to have a solid background and not have to worry about all the violence, bullying and bad influences. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and a little bit about how your schooling is ran :)

Sort:  

I am so glad you have enjoyed it! It is definitely a big leap. I think i was lucky to do Sudbury first. It is a bit like an unschooling school, and they have been open 50 years, so they have lots of experience and evidence of success. It helped me gain enough confidence to do it on my own.

Violence and bullying in schools is one more reason to keep kids away. Remember when columbine happened? It was unheard of. It was totally shocking. Now it happens all the time, and no one seems to care enough to stop it. Thanks again for stopping by with an awesome comment.

Oh yes, it’s like the norm now and happens way too often. Kids are hurting each other and killing each other and it’s heartbreaking.

It really is. And we are now at the point where there are so many contributing problems, its hard to unravel the mess.

Exactly! 😔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82