Sort:  

lol (sadly 'tis)! we are allowed to have boundaries ;) something we're not often taught growing up! thanks for stopping by!

Much like @mountainjewel states below, I didn't know that boundaries existed when I was little. I was taught they were a bad thing (effectively). As it turns out, much of GenX's work in the future is going to be dismantling/refining the goofy "all-inclusiveness is your duty" paradigm of the Boomers (which they preached, but didn't practice). Should only take 20-30 years or so...

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah @yestermorrow, Im not sure I understand what you are trying to say to a 100% maybe you are right about the generation theory. I guess people often falsely assume that everyone they interact with has similar or "normal" social boundaries and off they go...

Now days I believe that its good to try and establish boundaries with people early on,
doing this has been somewhat helpful against weird "social friction" and drama...

Before I was just "going with the flow" and I had many more friends, on the behalf of my integrity I guess...

/FF

What I meant was that, when I was growing up in the 80's and 90's, there was a very strong cultural push towards "open-minded all-inclusive sensitivity" a very idealistic paradigm of being "nice" to everyone, all the time, as a reflex. Essentially, the idea that boundaries are wrong, and that if you just trust people, they will do the right thing. "Work hard, play by the rules, and everything will be wonderful."

I, and it appears many in my generation, are waking up to the reality that it was all a sales-pitch, a marketing campaign to get young people to trust blithely and gratefully walk into the debt-slaughterhouse. Boundaries are essential to having a happy life. Being a little suspicious is not synonymous with paranoia.

Sorry, it's all very bust here this morning, I'll have to elaborate later.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57859.61
ETH 2966.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67