You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling 101 Part III

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I love your response to squabbling children. I have just started having to deal with that, as my baby is now a toddler capable or arguing with her brother. I think I will start having them work it out themselves.

I agree with the socialization issue. It's always top on the list of skepticism. I definitely do not think school is the best place to socialize for my ultra shy boy, but it is tricky for us trying to meet other kids with his very introverted personality. This is my area of insecurity with homeschooling because of the shyness. I try to remember that he would be shy either way, just as i was as a child.

Always glad to read about other people's experiences homeschooling. Great article.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for stopping by to comment! Sometimes they need help figuring out the best ways to negotiate, but for the most part it's so much better for them to figure out what works on their own. I was always so impressed with the judicial committee at the Sudbury school I worked at. It was run almost entirely by students of a variety of ages, and they were almost always fair and firm. My daughter was/is very shy. Like you said, she's just always going to be that way. She will talk eventually, and she's learned to navigate the world without me, so that is most important. She can now, at 16, get through any airport, including customs, and she can grocery shop. She'll talk when she needs to but will probably always prefer a small, close group of friends.

Sounds like a very interesting place you worked at.

I'm glad to hear your perspective on the shyness. Funny thing it is, how as parents we struggle with wanting our kids to be different than they are, even when they obviously got their traits directly from us. It is a test of self-love, to love what you have passed down :)

The sudbury schools are amazing. Theres maybe 50 or 60 around the world. You can find out more at www.sudval.org.
Kids are incredible mirrors, and theres a lot of opportunity for us there if we choose to see it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60