You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mandate to Raise Children Who Can Repair & Restore - Evolving Young People to Heal Mother Earth

in #ecotrain5 years ago

It's the ultimate arrogance - and maybe the ultimate stupidity - to have and raise a child who will be just like you.

I have never thought of it quite that way, but I guess there must be some instinct within most parents which alines that. We do strive to raise a better version of ourselves, but it doesn't always come out in a healthy way; thinking of those parents who live vicariously through their children.

I am, avowedly, an advocate of one child families.

I certainly have to respect the ideal of that, although never by enforced means after seeing how that worked out in China. They may have been onto something, but I wonder if they foresaw the preference for boys leading to such an imbalance of the population.

I have sometimes wondered if there would have been less emotional turmoil raising just one, but I also don't think I could have not given my first a sibling. I dread to think how my life would have been without my own sister.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87