Sort:  

Reading your first paragraph my immediate reaction was: Sure, it may be stupid and arrogant to raise a copy of yourself... but can you actually avoid it? Further down you are putting it into perspective by saying we have to evolve a better version of ourselves. Now that I can see, and agree with. Just as we must strive to become a better version of ourselves, this is also what we should pass on to our offspring, should we decide to have any.

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Interesting post, and a great story.. 😊

@artemislives, In my opinion new generation needs the new perspective of life and not the same worldly Rat Race. Love for nature is vital and understanding nature is most important. Teachings of love, peace, kindness, Spirituality and brotherhood is needed to make the world a better place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @artemislives! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That's a beautiful and also sad story.... so like life really.

"Evolving a better version of ourselves".

I don't know if you meant it this way... but I understood that as being the evolution I have been going through via the act of becoming a parent. Parenting is a very interesting process of personal transformation, speaking as a dad. I can only imagine it is more so for a mother.

😊🙏🏽💜

Ah, Ploi, you really are a treaure! Hope i get to meet you one day! Hope Korea was amazing.

I loved having only one. I have him all of the attention, love and education I could NEVER have stretched to more than one. I will never regret that. And I did it all without 'things' or the need for them.. he was far more important than a job or a new car or blah blah blah. God help the kid if he was 'just like me' ... but he us most definitely an independent thinker.

And yes, I had priveledge of choice... always been keenly aware of that. Such a clear, honest and solid response to an amazing question that is important to discuss.

It's the ultimate arrogance - and maybe the ultimate stupidity - to have and raise a child who will be just like you.

I have never thought of it quite that way, but I guess there must be some instinct within most parents which alines that. We do strive to raise a better version of ourselves, but it doesn't always come out in a healthy way; thinking of those parents who live vicariously through their children.

I am, avowedly, an advocate of one child families.

I certainly have to respect the ideal of that, although never by enforced means after seeing how that worked out in China. They may have been onto something, but I wonder if they foresaw the preference for boys leading to such an imbalance of the population.

I have sometimes wondered if there would have been less emotional turmoil raising just one, but I also don't think I could have not given my first a sibling. I dread to think how my life would have been without my own sister.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99