Home Made Pommade: A cheaper, more sustainable, alcohol free alternative.

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)
This is my entry to the latest contest from @naturalmedicine found at Steempeak.

My wife and I can go to great lengths at times to make sure we take care of this world for future generations.

From selling our Keurig and buying a normal coffee pot again to conserve plastic waste; using 24 ounce yeti mug with my own 'mug' on it so as to not use plastic cups that my last company bought for me as a parting gift; ditching the gas guzzling cars I loved so much and buying myself a 4 cylinder manual shift Kia Soul to commute to work; not going out to eat and cooking everything from scratch; using cloth napkins at the table so as to conserve waste; and yes, using cloth diapers for our baby. (Highly recommend it!)


One of the biggest changes I had made, and one that I am really proud of is my homemade pomade. 

A couple years ago I noticed two main problems with the products I was purchasing for my hair. 

1. The alcohol ingredients that they put into it would dry out my scalp.

2. I was spending a crap load of money. It would average to about $20 a month.

So I set out on a quest to make my own pomade. Being in my 30's now and still having a full set of hair, keeping it healthy is important to me. So in March of 2017, I purchased an $11.00 bag of beeswax, a $20 tub of coconut oil, and a couple small mason jars I found at Michaels. 




Ingredients

The process is actually pretty simple. The ingredients I use are 1 to 2. 

1 cup beeswax

2 cups coconut oil

You can play around with the ingredients to get the type of mixture you want, as some people prefer 1 cup beeswax to 1.5 cups coconut oil. 

Putting it all together


The next step is to use a double boiler and boil down the bees wax until it's a liquid. If you do not have a double boiler, you can do what I do and use a Pyrex mixing bowl in a pot of boiling water.

Once the bees wax is melted down, add the coconut oil until its mixed together.

Then you just pour the mixture into the mason jar(s) and...

Voila!


It really is that simple. And guess what, that $11.00 bag of beeswax that I bought back in 2017? It's still about 1/4 of the way full! 

So it's a great way to save money, your hair, and the environment. 


Sort:  

What an awesome idea @swayzilla!!! Thank you for sharing it here with us, and thank you @cmplxty for featuring your article in his Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry :) Feel free to join us with an entry of your own any week :) Oh, and welcome to steemit!

Wow, nice! Congratulations on making your own hair-care product. When I first read your title, my initial reaction was: well, I'm not entirely against alcohol, as I was sipping on my Guinness... But for certain, if you don't want alcohol to dry out your scalp, you shouldn't have to. And if that's not available, well, DIY is a great attitude. So if the final result turns out as wonderful as you described, well, I'll raise my glass to that. Cheers!

Haha! Stouts are the best. I went to a bar last night with coworkers and this is what they had on the menu:

  1. Black and Blue // Guinness and Wachussett blueberry
  2. Black and Tan // Guinness and Harpoon
  3. Black and White // Guinness and Allagash White
  4. Black Magic // Guinness and Magic #9
  5. Black Moon // Guinness and Blue Moon
  6. Snake Bite // Guinness and Angry orchard.

I figured I'd give it a try and did the Snake Bite, and the Black and White. Both were good.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! I think my choice would've been Black Moon, as I remember trying Blue Moon once and liking it. How was the Snake Bite? It didn't take away from the taste of Guinness I hope.

You’ve been visited by @riverflows on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Oh my goodness, how good are bees? So many great salves and other cosmetics use their wax. Ugh, those keurig are evil!! Selling it wasn't probably the best idea - they'll continue to pollute the environment with it, but still, the thought was there! You know the guy that invented them regretted it because he knew they were an environmental disaster. Posts like this are great for getting us to think about easy things we can do to create our own sustainable, eco minded natural medicines! Love it!

Did you know that @ecotrain and @naturalmedicine are colloborating on an awesome challenge where you can win 50 Steem? Check it out here.
If you are interested in natural healing from herbalism to alt diets to mindfulness, and everything else in between, you might like to join Natural Medicine on Discord or consider delegating a little to support healing wisdoms on the Steem blockchain.
50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Bees are great! But yes, we need to get people to think about alternatives to Keurgis. Coffee pots are so much cheaper and better for the environment.

Posted using Partiko Android

Also, for the people who say their Keurig is because they only drink one cup, they could get a French press. There are even French presses that are mugs so you drink right from the same container!

Selling it was probably ok, really, because a) the person who bought it was going to buy one anyway, most likely; and b) at least this way they weren't buying new; and c) this way it wasn't more e-waste in the trash from all our appliances!

I've also featured this in the pay it forward contest brought to us by @pifc! I found the contest here: https://steempeak.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-61-pay-it-forward-curation-contest where you can check out others posts

Awesome, love it man! This natural medicine community is one of the strongest here on Steem. Now just comment on their post that this is your entry, here’s the link. Include a link to your post in the comment so folks can give it a visit.
https://steempeak.com/naturalmedicine/@naturalmedicine/natural-medicine-and-ecotrain-unite-the-alternative-consumer-challenge-50-steem-in-prizes

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @swayzilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

wow! All those changes really add up, good for you. Cloth diapers really are a wonderful solution. Great recipe, so simple and pure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94