Why I Live The Life I Do - Part 2

in #ecotrain5 years ago (edited)

P_20190322_131916.jpg

I am known to be quite head strong, once a decide upon something then, well then I stick with it. I see it through. Of course I also have to be very sure that what I am doing, is what is best for me, my children and the environment. I talked about my love of travel in the last part of this story, about how it opened up my eyes to the world around me. How it allowed me to see the similarities between us all, the one thing that connects us all.

IMG_0175.JPG

visiting communities in France

In the past I worked in mental health. I witnessed first hand the effects that living in a world that forces us to conform, has on so many of us. I have seen what it is like when you are deemed too soft , deemed not strong enough. The punishment that those of us who are sensitive have to endure, those that do not fit in. Indeed if you are not seen as contributing to society then you are shun upon. Locked away and hidden from the rest of the world, locked away and forgotten about.

IMG_4326.JPG

creating ceremonies to bring people together, to celebrate our many rites of passage.

This might sound far fetched, but this is what I have witnessed. We all suffer with our mental health at one stage or another, yet so many continue to suffer in silence. Why is it okay to express our concern about those who suffer physically but when they suffer mentally we turn the other way. When we should be supporting one another, creating space to listen, hear and see those that suffer around us.


Connecting with like minded people in Morocco

I knew I wanted to live in a way that reflected how I felt, that embraced the amazing diversity that is all around us. Part of the reasons for living as a nomad was to connect with those who felt the same, who were creating a world where everyone was accepted. These were the places where I wanted to raise my children.

I have found that those who accept others, are those who are able to accept themselves first. Of course this is not always easy to do, but it is vital if we are to move forward and create more nurturing communities.

P1110116.JPG

coming together to play music and celebrate life

I am all about bringing people together, finding ways that can unite us, so that we can create the world we want to live in, the world we want our children to live in. On top of that I wanted to connect with people who were living in harmony with the earth, to get to see and take part in different projects that promoted this way of life.

027.JPG

Attending a community empowerment workshop in France

There are so many amazingly skilled folk out in the world, that are proactive in permaculture, in Earthcare and who wish to share their knowledge. So many who are living on the edges of society and creating change in their corner of the world. I wanted to meet and learn with these folk. Engage and share space with them.

IMG_3656.JPG

A pallet garden I made for a workshop I held about how to grow food in small spaces.

This is what I want my children to see also, this is the education that they need. For many many reasons, I knew before I even had children that I would not send them into mainstream education. I will not get into the reasons now as that is for another day. But I did want my children to be skilled in the way of the world. So the best way to do that was to bring them out into the world.

317.JPG

That time we helped to build yurts.

Children have a strong desire to learn, they absorb so much and they form there impression of the world by the world they live in. They look to elders to show them, not teach but show the way. Because I believe strongly that they are more than capable of teaching themselves, they just need access to the proper resources and to live in a stimulating environment.

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9Wk4BCJ9QNv6FkYQZD7o3BhpVscPzCYRhQzYr7tDqY3LevHK6D1gCXV6GWbYBqoLZdbpxppLid9Vrw8.jpeg

As I have already stated, I am quite headstrong and I wanted to live in a way where me and my children get to grow together. A way where we get to spend most of our days outside, connecting with nature. Where we lived simply, so that very little is wasted and everything is used or up cycled. I have achieved this and I would not live any other way. My children are flourishing, they are wild and adventurous and their kindness and creativity blows me away everyday. I feel very blessed to live the life I do. For sure I have had my fair share of hardship, but through it all I have stayed true to who I am and that is what I want my children to see, that to me, is what living is all about.

All photos are mine.



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Amazing. I had no idea you have traveled so far and wide to do empowerment workshops and the likes! That is really awesome. You definitely seem like a headstrong woman with a passionate mission!

That pallet garden is an incredible idea! I'm writing that down to maybe make one this year for growing food at my apartment.

thanks @alchemage, I did do a post a while back about how to create vertical gardens, they are a great way to grow food, esp greens and herbs. xx
here's a link if you are interested https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@trucklife-family/grow-food-anywhere-container-and-vertical-gardening

I love your passion for teaching your kids experientially... the whole heart-soul-mind. You're an awesome mom & dont need to justify your choices... they will be evident in your happy, healthy, engaged & creative children. Mama-to-mama hug!! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks so much lovely one xx

I love your passion for teaching your kids experientially... the whole heart-soul-mind. You're an awesome mom & dont need to justify your choices... they will be evident in your happy, healthy, engaged & creative children. Mama-to-mama hug!! 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95