Awesome New Gear For Bug!

in #edclove6 years ago

Awesome New Gear For Bug!

After a harrowing journey, several items I have been really wanting have arrived! Two of them are simply not available in Canada.

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.23.31 PM.png

One of the items, which is just terrific, is a little burner by Gas One. This one is stainless steel, which I love. The other butane stoves which are painted are beyond garbage. The paint turns nasty and peels off after only moderate use. This little stove will be one of my mainstays when I hit the road in April and I will be using it daily.

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.23.57 PM.png

What is great about the Gas One stove I got is that it is DUAL fuel. The one available in Canada is only butane but the American market Gas One unit is both butane and propane AND comes with the adapter hose. For less than the single fuel Canadian market offering.

Gerber EAB LITE

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.26.20 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.26.29 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.26.10 PM.png

The next item I got was the Gerber EAB LITE money clip utility knife. What’s so interesting about this item is that it is 24 bucks Canadian but only 6 bucks US as an add on item from Amazon USA. So I bought 20 extra of them to sell locally for 20 bucks each which makes all the stuff I got pretty much free lol.

This is one well designed, solid, quality piece of kit and very worthy of an EDC item for the million tasks we need a small blade for like cutting off some hanging thread or opening up Amazon packages. Having incredibly cheap, tough, replaceable blades available for this unit is just terrific. Saving your main blade for tasks you really need it for makes this an ideal addition to an EDC.

The Honey Badger

Screen Shot 2018-10-10 at 3.25.23 PM.png

The next item is simply not available in Canada at this time. The Honey Badger is a flipper knife with a full flat grind that I can use as a really effective camp kitchen blade for light food prep tasks, while still being a really good all round EDC pocket knife with a really excellent steel. For the money, it is much better quality than many knives on the market which cost considerably more.

The 8Cr13MoV steel is an excellent choice for this knife and is stainless as well as considerably tougher than 440C stainless. 440C is a benchmark steel that is often used as a comparison steel and is an excellent steel in its own right.

My Customer Experience

I am very engaging and vocal with places like Amazon and UPS when it comes to the services they provide in Canada. I have received many rebates and concessions by simply being reasonable and inquisitive. Items sold by and provided by Amazon with massive price discrepancies is something I point out continuously not only for myself, but to add the weight of other voices expressing the same concern.

I don’t mind paying the exchange rate, that’s fair, but don’t charge me an extra 20 bucks just because you think Canadians are accustomed to paying more for goods and services. Canadians and Americans are brothers and sisters. We have family and friends living on both sides of the border so it’s important that we try to iron things out as we go, in my view.

UPS decided to charge me $70 CAN in duty and customs fees for an order worth a total of $213 US. When they could not provide me with a detailed breakdown of what appears to be an arbitrarily arrived at number, they decided to fully withdraw all customs and duty charges and I only had to pay 35 bucks CAN in tax. Again, no problem with that. I will be following up with UPS to get that detailed breakdown. I’m not letting them off the hook without an explanation. If they can simply wave their duty & customs wand and make fees disappear then I think a peek behind the curtain is warranted.

Use The Gear You Have Daily

An interesting point for me. I use my outdoor gear at home on a daily basis. I am a huge believer that a big part of being prepared is being 100% familiar and comfortable with all the gear you intend to use when away from home. For me, the best way to accomplish that is to simply use my outdoor gear at home every day.

A big shout out to @SirCork for being a standup guy and getting this all done for me. That is one efficient dude when it comes to getting stuff done. Thanks man!!

Hope you’re having a great week folks!
Chow for now,
Bug

Sort:  

Is the knife not available because of the import ban or no dealer? Nice knife...

Hey @oldman, thanks for stopping by. There is a lot of confusion about 'import ban' I think. This knife is an unassisted flipper. No spring or other mechanism. I bought another flipper last month out of Italy and zero issues importing. You can still buy flippers off Amazon.ca as well. The 'sorta ban' could one day include flippers that require a finger action to open them but no issues as of yet. Also, an import issued still has no bearing on legally owning them. That is only customs at this point. There would have to be legislation to ban or outlaw certain types of knives at this point. I hesitate to call a knife a weapon because it is the most useful tool a person can own in my opinion.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Man the tariffs are playing havoc with my business right now. Most of my distributors buy from the US which is bad enough. Now, all the stuff they order from overseas is being held up or getting charged way more. So, I am either not making any profit now on hardware due to surprise costs, or the stuff is stuck in distribution indefinitely and my customers are doing without. Nuts.

I love my camping gear though and that looks like awesome toys!

That's harsh brother, I hope things get turned around soon. Are you at liberty to say what type of business you are doing? I do have a workaround for you if needed. Very effective, 100% legal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97