Staying smart in a world of "bad information"

in #education5 years ago

I’ve been on a bit of a history-bender (if that’s what you call it) for a while now. Let’s say most of my life. No really, I’ve been getting a renewed interest in history, which is great really. I fell in love with history when I was something like 9 or 10 years old after watching The Tudors (I know, not supposed to watch it at that age blah blah blah). I loved everything about that show and for years, I had a huge fascination for the Tudor period (as well as many others). And that’s exactly what I wanted to write about today.


TheTudors_showtile.png.2018-10-30T11:37:54+13:00.jpg
I did not just spend ten minutes looking at pictures of this guy....Image

The Tudors is a pretty good show, but it’s hugely inaccurate, you know, historically speaking. At least at times. Yet still, even though I know that, I can’t help but have a feeling of affection for Henry VIII, even though he was basically an asshole. But come on, have you seen Jonathan Rhys Meyers? How can you hate him?
But even though the show isn’t the best point of reference and shouldn’t be treated as such, it’s still good information. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, about information intake. I mean, looking back at some of the books I used to read when I was small, like the ones below or Philippa Gregory’s writing, all these things I used to consider highly historical and smart...And now, looking back, I know they weren’t. I know there are better places to get accurate portrayals of people and I’ve learned to distinguish between good historical fiction and books that can actually help you learn and books that can’t. Or, as I like to think of them, bad information.

Except I’m wrong here.

There is no such thing as bad information. It’s just information and if you’re never exposed to wrong stuff, you won’t know how to make the difference between the two, between what is actually true or worth knowing and what is not.
For example, these books in the picture (I remember I was really proud of reading them at about eleven or twelve because they’re big and seem smart) are full of cheap propaganda. Thinking back, they don’t show accurate portrayals of any of the rulers/people they write about. It’s sloppy writing and I hate sloppy writing now, but maybe I wouldn’t, if I hadn’t been exposed to it. I mean, looking back at some of the stuff I used to consider good historical information, I cringe. But those too were part of my learning.


53160220_2132883156791811_8132635405221625856_n.jpg

“Bad information” helps you grow. It’s not harmful. What can be harmful, however, is what you do with this information. For example, if you say “okay, this is all the information I need, I’ve read this one book on Roman emperors, I’m set”, then that’s bad. It’s not a healthy way to view knowledge, but some people are like that. Recently, I came across this one woman who thought The Tudors was a reliable history source and she considered herself pretty smart because she was quoting the show.
That’s a terrible mentality. It’s literally what is wrong with this world, this feeling of entitlement and “I know just enough”, of “I can be right even though I’m mis-informed and generally stupid”.
But that’s not the information’s fault. It’s yours because you’re using it wrong.

Take for example, the news. Now, the news can’t really be trusted to provide you with an accurate portrayal of events. Any news channel. See, people seem to think “channel X is full of propaganda or is in so-and-so party’s pocket” and that may well be true. It probably is being sponsored by a certain political party to spread lies.
But where these people fail is they just go on to the opposition, to any of the other news channels and – provided they bad-mouth the first channel just enough – trust them blindly. The news is a lose-lose situation, my friends. Here, there is no good sort of information. It’s only lies. But again, what you do with that information makes all the difference. You can listen to a certain set of lies and go out and protest the other set of lies and think yourself a liberator and a freedom fighter. But you’re not. you’ve just chosen the lies that seem more appealing to you. You’re in no way different to the people who listen to the other channel.

The reason I made this comparison is that there is “bad” information all around us. It doesn’t just concern history books or gardening or any one subject. It exists in each and every aspect of life and it’s important to learn to recognize it and use it accordingly. See, it’s not enough to recognize it’s bad information and just ignore it. That won’t make it go away. You need to learn to see it for what it is and then make up your own mind, take what you can and what you need from any one source of information, but learn to depend on none.

You can learn from anything. From bad books, from bad movies. From good books and good movies. From left wing and right wing and anywhere in between. Often enough, the only thing you’re missing is the right mentality needed to learn.

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

This is a really good post, resteemed! People believe so blindly the first information they get about a subject, believing it as the truth and only truth, disregarding any additional information, especially contradicting views. I think a lot of it comes from people being so damn lazy that they don’t wanna use any time or effort to find out the truth, or even just have a more general idea about anything by viewing multiple sources of information.

What comes to period dramas, I love them, but try and only see them as entertainment, inspired by real events.

Thank you, Eve :* How nice of you! I appreciate it.
You're right, people are terribly small-minded. As long as their personal day-to-day life isn't obviously affected, they don't really care.

but try and only see them as entertainment, inspired by real events.

Me too ;) I know a lot of people who get triggered by them, go ape-shit 'cause it's not real or true to how it was...you just have to enjoy it for what it is, right?

If censorship keeps moving apace, we won't have to worry about good and bad information for much longer. There'll only be one version and that's the approved version.

True. I think censorship will always exist. It's too useful for it not to. But I also think people who fight it will keep existing. They're here, there are people today speaking out against it and this sort of platform is, I think, proof of that. I just don't know if it will be enough, you know?

If it's not, I'm afraid people who know the "approved" version isn't true will go crazy :/

Yet still, even though I know that, I can’t help but have a feeling of affection for Henry VIII, even though he was basically an asshole. But come on, have you seen Jonathan Rhys Meyers? How can you hate him?

He's on a long list of living reminders of the vital importance of decentralization. Decentralization has the potential to keep anyone from being put into a position to do the kind of things Henry VIII became known for.

True, although if you compare Henry to political leaders today and the deaths and horrors they are responsible for, Henry suddenly seems like small potatoes, doesn't he? Very round potatoes, but still small ;)

Well this didn't go where I was expecting it to go! I was about to mention the book, Mary the Queen, by Hilda Lewis, which got me fascinated with the Tudors. Then you went in a different direction completely...

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, it went where I wanted, I suppose. I just checked Lewis out and she seems pretty interesting :) I see she also has a book on Catherine of Braganza (Charles II's wife) and I love the Stuarts as well, so will definitely check her out. What stopped you mentioning it? I love recommendations of historical books.:)

What stopped you mentioning it?

Well, there didn't seem much point when I realised the you weren't actually giving a history lecture. ;D

Hilda has an interesting perspective. She puts herself in their shoes rather than going with the perceptions of everyone else.

Posted using Partiko Android

Might be inaccurate but is hugely entertaining. Probably not 9 year old-suitable...But what the hell. A lot of historical information is quite inaccurate, but for me seeking more clarity is part of the fun of studying history.

You're right about information also HD, it's all just information and needs to be weighed and measured by the person absorbing it to determine its value to that person.

So much to learn so little time huh? This is a good post. Now I want to watch the Tudors again. I went to the Tower of London where Anne Boleyn was beheaded along with many others at the order of Henry 8th. Now that's real history. Love it...It's much more engaging than most people these days anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love it...It's much more engaging than most people these days anyway.

I know, right? On my first visit to London, I was like a kid in a candy store. I ran around the city for about three days, seeing all sorts of monuments and historical places. I loved the Tower, particularly because all of this heavy history it carried. Sitting outside of Shakespeare's Globe is mandatory for each London trip. there is just something magical about that place, at least to me...

I agree, the show is hugely entertaining and now, I'd like to rewatch it from a more grown-up perspective. It wasn't suitable, no, but at the same time, I was never what you'd call a normal kid. I know I had this feeling watching it that all the sex might be a reason for me to stop watching and I hated that because there was so much more there, to be honest, I barely cared about the sex. I mean, yeah, there were a lot of hot people on the show and I had a crush on Jonathan for many many years, but there is so much more to learn from that show.
You can take the show for this hot people-sex and violence factor which sells or you can take it for all the worlds it might open for you. I loved the Tudors and the Borgias and Rome, but part of that was because my appreciation of the shows made me want to read more and study a person/period further. I have stacks of books on all these periods and I would've never had them, probably, if it weren't for the shows.

but for me seeking more clarity is part of the fun of studying history.

Exactly, if you got it right the first time, you would have no reason to go read a second book. and where's the fun there? I love going through a bookstore and being able to say "oh that's crap" and "oh this one's a great read". It usually helps being with someone, though, otherwise they look at you funny :))

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60