Beginners Guide: How to get Followers by Commenting & the problem of Spam

in #education6 years ago (edited)

I'm making this post because I keep seeing a lot of spam comments by newbies, thinking they'll be successful on Steemit by commenting spam and telling people to follow them.

Not only that, I find it amusing to see people commenting "great post" 30 seconds after it was published, I mean, no way you already read it, so why would you comment that? You need to understand that we see things like that, and not only we won't follow or upvote you, but we might flag you.

Copy of יצירת פוסטים מוצלחים בסטימיט.png

Why might we flag you?

We might flag you because after working on a post, wanting to get valuable comments depending on the post's goal, and then seeing a type of comments like " great post follow me please " " follow me I follow you " is very, very annoying.
Understand the community, no one wants to see these types of comments on his post nor on Steemit in general.

If you see spam, please report it to @steemcleaners, and if you are the one who comments spam thinking it will benefit you, I hope you'll change it after reading this post.


What are spam comments?

Here are some examples of pure spam, please don't comment like this, and if you did until now, stop doing so, trust me, it won't help you

Screenshot.png
Screenshot (1).png

Be aware that if the post is educational, and you comment "very educational post, thank you" or something like that, it will be considered as spam to most of us, even if you read the post. because we can't know you actually read it, when we see comments, we want to see valuable comments.

What are valuable comments?

Valuable comments are comments that add something to the post, it can be giving your own perspective, criticising, recommending on stuff that is related to the post, asking a question that is related to the post and so on.

Here's an example of a good comment, he/she share his/her own experience and engage with the author, plus got an upvote.

Screenshot (2).png

Stick to this, don't comment spam, and I assure you that you will stop getting flagged and you'll get upvotes instead, not only that, you will get new followers, sometimes even followers with a nice amount of SP that can help you make a progress on Steemit.

How can I find where to comment?

You want to only comment on things you can add value to, which means, you need to gather the things you're good at or have knowledge at and go to to the specific tags of these subjects.

When you find the perfect tags for you to be active on, go to the "Hot" and "Trending" sections of them, and start reading the posts and then start making valuable comments.

Sort:  

Quite offten when i see in comment "plz follow and upvote me", i do the exact oposite - I MUTE this commenter. The good think woul be be if they would get some kind of allert every time they been muted. Maybe these beggers would learn so more quick (the hard way) that they are doing something wrong.

I don't think muting would be a good solution, I think that flagging every time you see a spammer, will get results.

I agree to flagging a spammer, but would you flag one who begs for follows and upvotes? I see it inside articles as well. I'm new to Steemit, but I don't like begging behavior. I haven't flagged any of them, though.

Great post. Please follow me.

Kidding, kidding:) I couldn't agree more, and it's good to see so many people saying it. I'm new here and want to comment on as many posts as possible and get to know new people, but the only way this platform will become the community it can be, is by creating actual discussions with each other

I'm pretty much new to Steem and I can't deny the fact that I am guilty of doing it. I thought it was just normal since most of the comments I receive was the "follow for follow comment method" until I read your blog today. This is a wake up call for me personally, and thanks for having the courage to post this. I totally agree, there should be a stop of the rampant low quality way of leaving comments.

check this below post, i dont want to disclose the post or the user but see this. 62 views :P and 110 upvotes ... its a big LOL

st.JPG

I just hope sir that this kind of warning post you made will reach all people in the entire community most specially the new comers because not all of the members here fully understand steemit (just like me dont have that broad knowledge but finding my ways not to get lost here),, for them to avoid this "spamming thing" cause I believe comments such this may come unintentionally (like being excited to be follow and to have an up vote for themself)and without thier knowledge that its no good and not healthy for them (who does the comment) and could bring them in trouble and a headache to the author who's being commented which probably get annoyed. For their awareness, safety and for a healthy community. God bless sir @yairdd

thank you for posting. this is a lesson for other steemians. I totally agree. we hope every comment is to support appropriate postings.

*Yes thank you for this great post by sir @yairdd exactly I experienced many times here,I post then someone is commenting ohh its a great post,I upvoted you,and please follow and upvote me,like that but I made to upvote his/her blog.now I know...thank you again sir for reminding us *

very good educational points I especially agree with the point of "follow me I just followed you" stinks so much of desperation it is more of a put off . When I comment on a post it is generally something about a point within it ,then perhaps the writers creative juices will again be inspired for more maybe related posts which in turn may inspire the reader to think of posts also .I believe this is perhaps the idea of the creator To keep inspiration bubbling between writer & reader.

I was almost going to reply to this article with "great post" without reading, until I read here why I shouldn't. Just in the nick of time.

Hahaha, I bursted on this.

Your post shouldn't be necessary. What you write should be common sense.

I'm glad you wrote it, because clearly it isn't common sense.

We see spam comments here, on blogs, on Twitter, everywhere where people try to make short cuts.

Thank you for your advice about flagging spammers. I hadn't thought about that - yet. I would have, eventually :D But I'm so new here. I'm still trying to figure out how things work.

אני גאם ולאה חדשה בישראל

And I'm horrible at Hebrew :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43