BOGOMIL VARIATIONS 6 to 10 (in a series of 15)

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)


BOGOMIL VARIATIONS 6 to 10


Cooperative artwork by Otto Rapp and Michael Wolik


Bogomil Var-6-web1600.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATION 6

Created in 2012, Bogomil Variations are a set of cooperative works by Artist Otto Rapp (Canada/Austria) and Artist/Photographer Michael Wolik (USA). Otto Rapp provided the original artworks, paintings and drawings, and Michael Wolik transformed them digitally into design variations.

The process of taking a scan from an original traditional artwork and transforming it digitally, as opposed to producing a digital work from scratch, is that it retains all the textural qualities of the original, that is, brush strokes and marks, and pencil marks. The finished product retains that 'handmade' look of traditional art.

Bogomil Var-7-web1600.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATION 7

Bogomil Var-8-web1600.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATION 8

Bogomil Var-9-web1600.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATION 9

Bogomil Var-10-web1600.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATION 10

I just recently "re-discovered" these images in my files, so I thought I share them with my Steemian friends.

My post of
Bogomil Var-1-web-thumb350.jpg
BOGOMIL VARIATIONS 1 to 5
was already 23 days ago - it won't be as long before I post the final 5 in full color!

The entire set, consecutively numbered, consists of 15 images.
10 images are derived from black and white pencil drawings, and 5 images are derived from a acrylic painting.

STAY TUNED
Bogomil Var-11-web thumb350.jpg
color images 11 to 15 will be featured in the next installment.

“Collaborations work best this way; when there's a mutual desire to see what the other side adds. You know that what you're making on your own has value but the sum is more than the parts and every part knows it.” ― Questlove, Creative Quest


Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg

IMG_1918ps2200web.jpg
Previous post: CHIMERIA in SEDAN

About my Work

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

you can find all 15 on my Pixels website:
https://otto-rapp.pixels.com/collections/the+bogomil+variations

gosh, it is always amazing to see your art, otto <3 and the journey of bogomil has been one of the most fascinating transformations i've seen ! Wonderful !!!

thanks - I am planning to post the final installment of this series soon. There is so much backlogged for posting ...... my Paris trip, Chimeria in Sedan, my latest contribution to the Antipodes project etc etc

The symmetry play is awesome! How did you end up picking up that name?
Cause it exists n the history of Bulgaria... I don't remember all the facts since we studied that in middle school. It's a religion-related movement from the 10th century. It's a really interesting story if you like to check it out: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bogomilism
It's Long shot reference but that's the first thing that popped into my head when I saw the name.

yes, I explained it in an essay on my website - the essay was written for my first exhibition that had the title "Bogomil's Universe", decades ago.

This is quite impressive. Wonderfully creative and I look forward to seeing the next step!

I played a bit more digitally with one of my original digital pieces recently for a collab I am doing with a musician for the sndbox group here on Steemit. It was fun, I used digital sprayaint to graffiti one of my drawings and I really enjoyed it. It's a trippy old world, this digital life, and sometimes it feels so real, one wonders if 'real' will need a new definition one day :)

I love what you've done here and it's mirrored quality is trippy and surreal.

It was a colab, I did not do the transformation, but my friend Michael Wolik did. I had done some others myself also, but this series was his input to my original drawings (5 different from a painting coming up next time).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks a lot, your support is appreciated!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You got a free upvote from @reversed-bidbot! Follow me to earn steem by interacting with my promoted posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97