You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing and Preserving Food for the benefit of Self, Community, and the Planet

in #en6 years ago

I thought I had enough food preserved and canned last year for the entire year for a family of five. Little did I know then that I would be feeding basically 16 extra people! The food supply really helped but didn't go far. This year's plan was to do up at least two years supply from the garden. That hasn't worked out quite right either as we are eating more than saving. I guess this means back to the drawing board for next year!

Sort:  

I'll be digging out new garden beds for the next few years I'm guessing, the ever expanding garden beds. 16 extra people is a lot of mouths to feed, you must have a good size garden. So far I'm working the gardens to eventually feed just the 3 of us, but I have plans to feed many more :)

I have about an acre planted in veggies and then I have all my fruit trees and vines. It still is a lot of people. If we ever get peace and tranquillity in this country I will be looking to expand what we have started and perhaps plant a community garden to get folks here looking at feeding their families healthy foods.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87