You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Well, @abh12345. I've been thinking.

This is the fifth straight week that @janton has taken first prize. From what I can tell of the most recent statistics you've been keeping, where you spell out more than just the points, janton not only holds the record for number of consecutive wins, but he disputably lays claim to the number of total comments in a week—if not first, he's second. He definitely has the highest number of second level comments, and he just set the record for the highest overall point total since you went to the new system.

The only thing he doesn't hold as far as commenting is concerned is total CL for a week, but it wouldn't take much for him to exceed that, too.

What I've been thinking is, it's time for me to get back into the prize money. My stipulations for remaining out revolved around someone having the time. Janton has definitely put in the time, and he's also done an amazing amount of things with it.

So, if you would kindly put me back on the prize list, I would greatly appreciate it. I also have a message in for you on Discord when you have the chance to discuss it.

Thank you very much to @curie for sponsoring the leagues and for all that you all do.

Congratulations to all those who placed in the Top 10, plus those received bonuses for no upvotes. Very good. I'm looking forward to another week of posting and engaging, and I wish everyone a good week, too.

Sort:  

You've been thinking you say??!! It's about time, I say :)

Well, that's nice of you to say. :)

I kept thinking someone might be able to give janton a run for his money, but he kept ramping it up. I'm not even sure how it's possible to do the 500 comments in a week, let alone so close to 1000. I'm shaking my head. That's just amazing.

And then, he's managed to get enough CL into a comment to make it nearly to 200,000. It's a pretty big combination.

Anyway, I'm glad you're saying it's about time, although I was fully expecting it to go longer. But when he hits five in row, I guess it's time to see if I can do anything about it. :)

Hi Glen

Yes that's no problem at all, consider yourself back in the running for prizes :)

I'm still thinking about how to adjust the prize criteria, looking for a balance between encouraging/being fair/not putting people off.

Thanks again for your input and actions to let the prizes flow further :)

Hey, @abh12345.

For what it's worth, I think the main difference between the top Top 3, Top 10 and top 25 is the amount of time each one has on Steemit, and what they do with that time while they're here. Or maybe better said, what they do either on Steemit or on Discord, or wherever else they may be talking to and collaborating with Steemians.

The reason why I was stepping back was a concern that maybe by having as much time as I did, it would act as a deterrent. However, I don't know if that's even true after stepping away, though my being out did help some people get a little more. In reality, though, it was more or less the same people in the Top 5 taking turns.

We do have a different group of people manifesting in the Top 10 now than were there when I started 14-15 weeks ago, and those folks didn't just get there because of their own time and effort, but also because that of others changed, too. Things tend to wax and wane here as you can well attest to.

Encouraging folks to do a little more will only work if they're able to do it. At the same time, encouraging folks to do little more than what they are doing would seem to be a step backward. It's a balance I guess. In the end, though, if there's a desire to do more on Steemit, it's not going to happen through a lack of engagement. In reality, all of us need to be doing more if we want to reach more people and potentially gain a greater audience and reward on our posts.

Hi Glen, thanks for the detailed response.

As you know, I did have in mind that something needed tweaking, but as mentioned, I wasn't sure about what to do and where.

I certainly don't want to discourage, but also not give away STEEM for minimum effort.

I think I will add a column this weekend for starters, and see how that works. The scores will again not become comparable to the previous week, but that's the way it goes.

We have a good thing here, and so small changes along the way seems like the best approach.

Cheers!

I don't suppose you'd like to share what that column is going to include? :)

And, there goes my record keeping, too. Oh, well. :)

I'd like to try and measure more 'genuine engagement', and I wonder if this happens (like this conversation), further down the comment thread...

You mean below the 2 x you're already counting? Hmmmm. I guess that could be. I just wonder how many of us are actually getting that far down, and then, if we're doing that, can we be engaging with as many other people as we are now with the 2 x depth in place? Just the thought that pops into my head. Feel free to ignore it.

Another thought that pops into my head. When I first started you had a column for comments on other people's posts, or something like that, which got traded for the 2 x level. I wouldn't mind seeing that come back, personally, whatever it was, and still keep the 2 x level since you're talking about adding a column (which I guess I might be mistakenly thinking to mean keeping the rest of the columns and adding one more—if not, don't listen to what I just said about the additional column. :)

For what it's worth, I think the main difference between the top Top 3, Top 10 and top 25 is the amount of time each one has on Steemit, and what they do with that time while they're here.

@glenalbrethsen, I think that's an important piece of perspective for everyone in the leagues. Some of us are sporadic part timers... aside from creating a top level post (which can take a couple of hours, or more) I'm only on here "10 minutes here and 20 minutes there" in the course of a day. Sure, it adds up... on the other hand, I'd say a couple of days a week I may not check in more than just ONCE in the morning.

My point being, it's not reasonable and fair to compare that to someone who can basically sit at the keyboard 16 hours a day. Similarly, if I ever get into the top-25, it's not going to be a product of my "caring" more than I currently do, it's going to be because I had a couple of days off.

Thanks for bringing that up!

=^..^=

Yep. Not fair to compare. It's barely even fair to compare what some people can do in those 16 hours with what others manage to do with it. So, time is equal and it's not fair to compare, it holds that people with less time at some point aren't going to be able to accomplish as much. I know there are at least a few people who are able to do a lot in a very short period of time, but even they must be up around five to six hours a day, at minimum.

Popping on and off at ten to twenty minute intervals during the day would be very hard for me, so I can only imagine what's going on in the course of your day.

That said, I think the main idea behind the engagement league is engagement. The prizes are great, so is seeing how you measure up to yourself and others each week, but it's the engagement and I'd say the camaraderie that comes from engaging that are the main focus. The rest of it is nice, and helpful, too.

Then, too, we all have our own lives, and different situations. Not always, but most of the time we have control over our situations, even if we have to go back years and years to find the decision that put us where we are today. In my case, I've decided not to go back to work yet in order to make a go of this. If I can't make a go, then it looks like my final alternative is to go back to work because I've pretty much exhausted every other option I've had. And, my wife is done being the only one bringing home a living wage. :)

If that happens, my time here will be much more limited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67