You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ๐Ÿ† The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

thank you so much for the contest and prize @abh12345 it was a big surprise for me because I joined late and can't do much voting because of my plankton status and almost no sp but I'll keep cruising along and maybe someday I can vote like I want. thanks to @headchange who told me about your league and @eaglespirit and @wolfhart who gave me a warm welcome to the group!

Sort: ย 

Congratulation to you for your showing . It just goes to show you a little effort pays off no matter what level you are at . again nice job

thank you sir @wolfhart you're the best!

youre welcome, looks like you are getting up there!

just starting, I don't think you leaders have much to worry about from me for awhile! lol ya'll are great role models @eaglespirit!

like i said ive only been in the top 3 the last 2 times so ya never know. good luck!

thank you @eaglespirit you're very cool!

thank you kindly sir

yes Ma'am you're welcome.
are you winning the contest this week?

i got second place by default. glen gave up his spot so he would have won second. but i have a secret weapon this week, we shall see how it turns out.

oh very interesting! Well I'm just trying to be in the top 5 but I hope you win, I don't know anything about the lady that won last week.

You are welcome!

The scoring appreciates voting, but also takes into account that smaller fish cannot vote 100s of times each week, and that written interaction is more important. Well done!

oh thank you for explaining that @abh12345 that makes me feel more encouraged..ok I'll keep trucking then. God bless you for helping so many... my gosh you're doing great work!

Well, well, well. Look who we have in third place! I guess you never know who's going to show up in the leagues next. :)

Congratulations. Debuting anywhere on the list (Top 20%) is goodโ€”reaching the Top 3 your first time out is exceptional. Well done.

Things tend to change every week, so now that you know what it took to get to No. 3 this time, see what you can do to take it up a notch. If you can't, no problemโ€”the leagues are here to keep our interest in the main purpose for themโ€”engagement. I'm just trying to say that the numbers change from week to week and what was good for one place one week may not be for the next. Okay. There. I think I said it that time. :)

thank you sir!
so you are saying that I might not even be in the top ten next week right? lol. Just let me know when you get back in and I'll take that week off!

Hey I see that votes for witnesses are on there, I don't even know anyone who is wanting to be one. I nominate you! I don't even know what they do or why people want it!
what's that all about?

There's a chance you could be in the Top 10 with the same numbersโ€”you could even land in No. 1โ€”and there's also a chance you could end up outside the Top 10. That's where I was going with that. The only thing to do is try to improve on the numbers, but most people don't keep track and are pleasantly surprised when they end up in the prize money. :)

I'll probably need several folks who have the time I do to dedicate to Steemit and thus the leagues before I come back in for the prizes. It's not like I'm trying to take off any time, or not end up number one. It's just been harder and harder for me to find stuff to comment on over the last couple of weeks.

What Witnesses Do

Witnesses are the ones who run the STEEM blockchain on witness servers. The computers have to meet certain specs in order to keep things running smoothly. They're all over the world and don't really get nominated by anyone. They kind of just decide it's something they want to do, announce that they're becoming a witness, and try to rally support so they can move up the ranks. The top 20 witnesses are actually compensated for running their servers (they're called nodes), and so are the rest, just not as much. It depends on how many blocks of the block chain they get assigned (in a random fashion) to verify or authenticate, since every block that is created needs to be signed off on as valid. It's what protects the integrity of the blockchain since there's no one central server or servers running things.

If people are voting for witnesses, it's because they believe they provide some value to the blockchain. It used to be that they only had to keep up with the blocks that they're assigned, but since most of that is automated now, it's a little different than it was. So most in the top 20 are also devs or app developers or marketers or something that they do which they believe brings value. So, if you've used any of the third party apps that connect to STEEM and let you see information about your own account or others, there's probably a witness behind that (a few of them aren't, however).

Which could also mean they're running bid bots (some do that), or involved with other cryptos (like EOS), or doing other things that people might not like or are perfectly fine with. It's not supposed to be political, but it is anyway.

I'm Not Looking To Be A Witness

At this point, I'm not interested in being a witness, and I'm not sure what scenario it would take for me to be one. I'm really just trying to use the Steemit site to post, comment and curate.

Engagement League Witness Votes

I believe the witness votes are a part of the engagement league because it's part of the overall awareness of STEEM that we all should have. It's really left up to each one of us to decide if we're going to vote, and then who to vote for. We have 30 we can vote for, and so far, I've managed to get up to 23, I think, and I've already changed some votes, too.

Finding Witness Information

The hard part is finding out who does what and what they stand for. They've all made witness announcements, which you can generally find, but a lot of those are months old and might not even tell you what they think about things that are pretty serious issues now. So, you end up taking in their comments (if they do that) or checking out their posts (if they do that) to see what they have to say about certain subjects.

thank you sir for all the information and education, I sincerely appreciate it and have a much better understanding of the witness definition and purpose. thank you thank you thank you!
did you say that you also work in the real world outside of Steemit?

Not right now I don't. My last gainful employment was owning and publishing two small weekly newspapers. They went out of business due to a change in state law on how to process bankruptciesโ€”we published the sale notices.

Since then I had a janitorial job for a little over a year, but that was it, as I've been trying to get some other form of business up, be it on Social Media, my books, some other creations or now here on Steemit. So far Steemit's the best thing I've done by far, but not anywhere near something to live off of.

So, my wife is still working and we've been able to pay down debt and things prior to her working that has pretty much kept us ahead of the collectors while I'm trying to do something else. Not sure how much longer that will last, though, so my time here could be curtailed at some point.

oh my, there's alot to comment on here. First of all it would be a huge loss for you to have to leave, I mean I doubt if there is anyone on the entire platform who contributes as much material as you do, it's stunning.

as far as income here, isn't just a matter of time to grow big enough?

Regarding the newspapers, you aren't saying that the bankruptcy notices is what kept you in business are you?

and one more thing that I forgot to ask from your previous post: you said that you can't find things to comment on lately? why is that I mean what kind of topics are you looking for that aren't here anymore?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59445.54
ETH 2993.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74