You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mitochondrial medicine: Fact or fiction? Part III – What's the best strategy to deal with mitochondrial dysfunctions?

in #english5 years ago

Interesting one here. This is my first time of reading your blog. I guess I have a lot to catch up to but I've got a question,

What is the average number of mitochondrion in a human cell? I guess from this, one can easily calculate the average total number of mitochondrion in a human body. I don't know if there are variations and if yes, what are the factors that cause these variations in the number of mitochondrion per cell?

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hey @gentleshaid,

thanks for coming by. In fact, depending on the cell type of choice you have variations in the number of mitochondria. Metabolic highly active cells (liver cells or cardiac muscle cells) have thousands of mitochondria per cell. Immune cells (lymphocytes), in contrast, have sometimes less than 100 up to a few hundred mitochondria per cell. The more energy they produce the more mitochondria you need. However, in the neutrophils (also immune cells but almost no mitochondrial ATP) only 5-6 mitochondria are present per cell.

I hope this answers your question

Have a nice weekend

Chapper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99