You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mom Always Said, "The Brady Bunch is More Than Just a Silly TV Show".

in #entertainment5 years ago (edited)

I've had the same thought. We have too many choices to have a shared experience of TV now.
Ever start watching a movie on TV, complete with ad breaks; and realise you have the same movie on DVD and could watch it through without interruption, but forge on anyway?
I think its that feeling of a shared experience. You know that at least a few of your neighbours are watching the same thing at the same time. Like a drive-in but with walls.
For me, M * A * S * H (that's really easy to type with SHIFT held down) was the iconic show.
Dad used to watch it every evening at 5, and it probably taught me more than I realised.

Sort:  

I will never forget that my 6th grade teacher gave us homework on the night the last M * A * S * H* episode aired. He made it mandatory that we all watch the show. He knew it was going to be a cultural phenomenon and he did not want any of us to miss it. He was a wise man. I will never forget that episode. Although a different demographic, I am sure that if I walked into a party of people age 47 to 97 and said "How about that chicken in the last episode of MASH?" Every person would be able to chime in.

Hawkeye unraveling toward the end was particularly confronting, I found.
Alda was incredible in Horace & Pete's recently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71