You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Voice - Steemit Killer It Ain't

in #eos5 years ago

After following all the hype in the EOS community about what is happening in June, I'm kind of underwhelmed.

B1 building a social media platform was an open secret for quite a while now, so was that they are trying to tackle identity issues. While their approach seems to solve some issues Steem is having, I have the feeling that it is going to introduce a whole lot of new ones. Apart from the obvious (KYC), it seems to me like B1 is creating the ultimate echo chamber where the loud voices will only get louder (since they can use the tokens to amplify their voices). I'm not sure how much B1 thought about this issue, especially since it does not matter if those loud voices are bots or real humans.

It is also unclear to me, if there is any benefit in the voice tokens apart from being used on Voice. Since it looks like you can't sell them, it doesn't seem so. Which is a pity, since I agree with you that this is one of the killer features of blockchain based social media (and the reason why most of us are here on Steem). I also have to agree that vote-buying will move to other places.

To me it seems like Voice has only one purpose: get as many people as possible into EOS, as Dan briefly mentions towards the end of his presentation

Sort:  

Yeah, watching the fanboys salivating for months about it and then seeing that presentation is a major letdown.

I just don't see any upside to jump through all the hoops and get the profile there. If they partner with the major exchanges and have them accept your voice profile in place of the kyc, that would be different, but as it stands I have no desire to voice my opinion on that platform.

Yes, I also found that "announcement that we are going to make an announcement" rather strange, it reminded me a lot of Justin Sun on Twitter.

In general I like the idea of having a social media platform on EOS, that could compete with Steem or even with Facebook, but so far it doesn't seem like this is going to happen. Let's see what the future brings, maybe one day it will, there is a lot of untapped potential.

Them talking about facebook at this point is just arrogance, they've got to catch up to steemit first.

I mean, talking about facebook when you don't have a working web site...

Posted using Partiko Android

That's true, they have no working website but 4 billion dollars from the ICO.
That makes you think big.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86