1000 Follower Milestone and Cleaning Up!

in #esteem6 years ago

Batting 1000

Well, it actually happened, I finally reached 1000 followers.

It actually happened a couple of days ago, but I held off on writing this post because I knew there was a good chance I would bounce back and forth between 998 and 1002 for a day or two.

Like many others, this is a half hearted celebration. I know now after having used upvote bots for a time that a lot of my followers are ghost or bot accounts. The number of people that legitimately read and comment on my posts is probably closer to 50.

I am still excited though. I am excited about the future of Steemit and the many projects that are in the works. I am excited that I have reached a milestone that just half a year ago seemed impossible.

Coming in at the tail end of the 2017 boom, these past few months have been harsh. I know a lot of the seasoned Steemians have been through something similar before. The fact that they aren't sweating it, gives me hope that I also don't need to worry.

I plan on continuing to invest in Steem, I just wrote about how I recently purchased some and was able to boost my SP to 500+.

I see the current bear market an indication of crypto currency as a whole and not a lack of faith in Steemit. As I mentioned earlier, there are so many new projects being developed on the blockchain right now.

It is a great time to be invested in Steem!

The Clean Up

If you were thinking this meant I was cleaning out my followers list, you would be wrong. I know there are many other posts that have covered this topic, but if just one of my readers can gain some new knowledge then I will be content...

If you are a plankton or minnow and you are not taking advantage of @dustsweeper, you need to do it as soon as possible!

Save up at least 1 STEEM/SBD and send it to them so you can start taking advantages of this great service!

Let me explain why you need this service. Let's say you are reading a post that you really like, you upvote it and then you comment on it. In appreciation for your comment the original poster gives your comment an upvote. Let's say they have a smaller account too and the upvote they give your comment is only $.01.

You will never see a cent of that $.01... Steemit counts all votes below $.02 as dust and instead of paying out, that reward just goes away (probably back into the pool I am assuming).

By sending 1 STEEM to @dustsweeper, that account will go through all of your comments and upvote them to get at least the $.02 you need to get paid. Don't worry, the 1 STEEM/SBD you send goes a long way, usually giving you enough upvotes to last weeks.

For more information, check out the FAQ here

Thanks for stopping in and if you are one of my followers, Thank You! If you haven't signed up for @dustsweeper yet, make sure you do!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

FOR TSE:

By sending 1 STEEM to @dustsweeper, that account will go through all of your comments and upvote them to get at least the $.02 you need to get paid.

Actually, I have learned that in practice they'll only upvote two comments a day per account -- which was kind of disappointing. But it's still a very worthwhile service. When I get three consecutive minutes to spare, I plan to recommend it to our group. Or maybe I'll just refer them to your post. That could work.

The number of people that legitimately read and comment on my posts is probably closer to 50.

I'd say mine is closer to 5. If that.

1087 followers -- I seriously wonder why they bother.

Thanks for clarifying! I appreciate it. I was trying to put down a lot of information I had in my head in a short amount of time. I should have taken the time to actually verify the number I was getting each day. I think you are right though, two sounds pretty accurate. Every little bit counts!

Congratulations! Actually I thought I was already following you, and then I realised I wasn't. I am now, so that's 1001 (at least).
And thanks for the reminder to replenish my dustsweeper funds, as they are apparently running low!

Awesome! Thank you! Also, glad I could help!

Excellent goal Partner.
It's not easy to get there, and it feels good when you get there, although it's a little discouraging that the vast majority of those followers don't comment on or vote for our post frequently.

I hear you! All we can keep doing is plugging along though! Thanks for the comment!

Cool, I need to check into dustsweeper...

Congratulations!! 1000 followers is pretty great, even if some are bots... Haha!

You really should! It is a great project and game changing for your rewards even in these bear days.

Congrats on making the 1K followers:)

and thanks for reminding me about dustsweeper, I am not sure what my balance is with them but just sent some more to make sure its topped up :)

Thank you. In these times it is more important than ever to get that extra boost on upvotes!

Absolutely, and funny thing was I had plenty on there and I sent more, I probably have enough credit there to last me for months

That is pretty funny 😁

yeah but its good for keeping me going for a long while

Congrats 1000 followers! Well done! I didn't know this about the voting <.02 being swept away as dust! Wow, I'll have to look into this dustsweeper bot, thanks for the heads up :)

No problem and thank you. It is totally worth the investment!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 257 (9/14/18)

Thank you!

Dustsweeper seems like an interesting tool to use for sure. Hey, every little cent counts. Especially if you are a minnow. I will have to check it for sure. And, tell some people about it as well. Thank for the info, my friend. :)

Have a great day. :)

No problem. Spread the word, it is a great project!

Congratulations, reaching 1000 followers is still a pretty worthwhile achievement, even if a good chunk are not really active/human. It is great that you managed to invest a bit more into Steem, I did the same for Steem, but also put in a bit more into other crypto. We'll see how that all turns out in a few years time....

I guess the current competitor to the Steem chain really likes in those based on EOS. This morning I have been reading about various teething problems over there (the EOS chain, not the particular social sites), and they are not good... I think it is best to stick to the battle tested one, at least for the time being!

I think STEEM is great but there is always room for improvement. I am a big fan of EOS too. A lot of the info out there is FUD. They do have some issues they need to work through. They have a wide variety of block producers that can get things on the right track though. Check out my post tomorrow about another great project built on EOS.

I finally got my arse in gear and set up my Scatter and staked and voted on a couple of block producers. I noticed the voting percentage is still pretty low, which is not great.

The news that I was referring to was the idea of mutable contracts. I'm not sure that that is a good thing or not... In this case it was used to reverse a mistake, but is it a good idea in principle to allow the contract writer to change the contract and enact the change after the fact...

Ah, I understand now. Glad you are voting! If you get a chance consider @eos.detroit good group of people!

Thanks, I'll take a look at them. I need to get up to speed on the block producer's. I didn't follow much of what was going on after the main net launch. Waiting for the dust to settle first...

I don't blame you, it is pretty crazy. It is also important to voice your opinion and vote though. I love the EOS Voter tool that Greymass made.

Yes, greymass was one of my votes. I've only cast 3 so far, until I get a better handle on what is going on!

Any other teams you think are worth a look at?

I like SHEOS just because it is all ladies and that is awesome because the gender balance in IT is so skewed. Some of the people from EOSDAC are on Steemit and seem pretty decent.

Congrats on the new milestone! Dustweeper, I need to do that as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01