#Bozzlife : Concert Extravaganza! Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago

@mrsbozz and I have been to our fair share of concerts since we have known each other. Even before we met, we both had a great affinity for live music and have both been to more shows than we can probably remember.

I've interacted with others on the platform who say they have been to hundreds of concerts. We probably don't quite hit that level, but we are working on it!

The advent of smartphones has made it exceptionally easy to document these memories for future reminiscing. I was going through some of my photos and videos the other day and it prompted the idea for this post.

I remember sometime within my last year on Steemit someone created a tag for concert photos. I can't find it now, so instead I am going to use the #bozzlife tag I put on most all of my posts and maybe a couple of other ones (okay exactly four, we all know how tagging works right?)

I need to apologize right away for the quality of my photos. Since we attend a fair number of concerts we can't afford the "sweating distance" seats of the performers. This means a lot of pixelated photos in low light.

These were from the P!nk : Truth About Love tour. It was a fantastic show which included the acrobatics you see here and even some of her classic songs. It's actually kind of funny that she still plays her first hits because she fully admits she only recorded them to fulfill her contractual obligation. They weren't really the style of music that she wanted to be doing. Now that she is a big star and has more pull, she is actually putting out the kind of music she wants to be.

Another fun fact about this P!nk concert... Although she uses some pretty coarse language in her albums, she refrained from using it during the concert. She acknowledged that many people in the audience were young girls who looked up to her so she instead sang the "radio edit" version of her songs. I felt like this reduced the impact on songs such as "Perfect", but I fully understand why she did it.

These were taken during the Sugarland : Incredible Machine tour. @mrsbozz and I have seen Sugarland two or three times now and they never dissapoint. Another show we saw them at was right before Jennifer Nettles had her baby. The doctors wanted her to rest, so she basically just sat on a stool in the middle of the stage and flawlessly belted out their songs.

The show above was before her baby and the energy level was much higher. The Incredible Machine album was a slight adjustment of their sound vs the previous albums they had put out. I found it to be a natural and welcome evolution of their music and it continues to be my favorite album of theirs. Their latest release after a short hiatus is a continuation of the sound the created for Incredible Machine.

These shots were from a Train show that we attended. If I remember correctly I think they were the opening act for Maroon Five. I am pretty sure we left early and didn't really listent to Maroon Five though I can't quite figure out why that would have been now.

I wouldn't say I am a huge fan of Train's music, but they have always impressed me with the way that they are able to just come back out of nowhere and have a hit. They were all over the charts when they first came out with "Meet Virginia" and "Drops of Jupiter". After that, they kind of faded into obscurity for about a decade or so (maybe it wasn't that long), then boom!, along comes "Hey Soul Sister" and they are on the map again.

Their ability to find a song with a catchy hook is undeniable. I do remember that this concert was from their "Save me San Franciso" tour which was an album that had a ton of great songs on it.

This was probably one of my favorite concerts. I have seen The Doobie Brothers, The Moody Blues, Ringo Starr, Todd Rundgren, Chicago, Journey, but getting to see Neil Diamond is one of my proudest moments.

He is a classic songwriter and put on such a great show. It is kind of sad when you see artists like this because you know they have too many good songs to fit into one two or three hour set. It makes you a little nervous, because you know you aren't going to be able to hear them all.

Despite that fact, Neil covered most of the ones that I was looking forward to and it was just a great show. The weather was a little stormy and since we were sitting on the lawn we got to watch all of the people slipping and sliding down the mud on the hill.

The sing along classics like "Sweet Caroline" seemed to go on forever as he ran through the chorus close to six times before closing the song. No one really seemed to mind though, it was just a great evening of enjoying some timeless music by an extememe talent.

I intended to include some videos in this post, but it seems to be getting pretty long. Instead, I will throw a "part 1" to the title and continue on with this post tomorrow. I hope you stop back to see some of the other shows that @mrsbozz and I have been to.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

You can never take good pictures at a concert, at least I can't. Mine always turn out like that too :)

The atmosphere looks amazing there!

Yeah, my new phone is definitely better than my older ones were. That new "night sight" mode on the Pixel's is pretty awesome.

I've never even heard of Sugarland! I haven't really been to enough rock concerts. I went to a few poor quality gigs at one point, and I think that put me off. I saw Radiohead a few years ago - they were amazing.
Funnily enough, I spoke at my father's funeral in 2012, and I quoted some of the words of "Drops of Jupiter" by Train. Dad was really into astronomy and because he'd been ill for a long time he was unable to do any stargazing, so I liked to imagine him seeing the stars from a different perspective after he passed on.

Sugarland is country with a little pop crossover, but they are very good. Sorry about your dad, but that is awesome that you were able to use music to make a connection with everyone. That is part of why I love good music!

Yes that's a nice way to put it - I think it did make a connection with everyone.

taking photos in concerts is always a big challenge so I think you did well, My daughter In Law went to see Sugarland I think, I haven't been to many myself, I hate crowds and in fact all the big concerts I have been to are Irish Bands, lets see 3 of them in total, and one of those my Wifes favorite we also got to see at an up close and personal gig hosted by a NYC radio Station whch was cool

Cool photo's !! My wife and youngest are going to seen P!nk at her new tour this summer in Amsterdam !! Music is life :)

@mrsbozz and some of her family are also attending her new tour in April. I am a little Jealous!

She is a great artist. Im am always impresed by her productions and by her band... Some awesome musicians :)

🏆 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @ilsaione
Subscribe and increase the reward for @bozz :) | For investors.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3250 replies. Your next target is to reach 3500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awesome array of concerts you have seen. I love Diamond too. Great stuff. And Train's 'Jupiter' song is a real treasure imho

Thanks for sharing @bozz

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 4.58% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 243 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94