You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Worst Book Review I Ever Received in my 2 Decade Career as a Writer!

in #esteem6 years ago

"No attention is bad attention," as some marketing friends of mine told me, talking about how really bad reactions and really good reactions are both good for marketing, while, "Ok," or the valley of mediocrity, is where things die.

And yet, none of that helps salve the ego. But hopefully, as you said, you'll use this to meditate over your own. That's a task that never ends, does it? :3

For what it's worth, I don't think he was at all positive, but I didn't read him as being as negative you thought he was. Hopefully readers will glean that too. Or maybe, for the sake of inciting interest, we should hope that they do? The mind is caught between the two poles.

He certainly seems to profess enjoying sarcastic humor lacing through contemplative writing. You often dislike it. I'd honestly feel it'd perhaps have been more of a slam against your work had he liked it, because he's looking for the stuff you often speak against, to a degree.

Sort:  

Thank you, Guy, for those helpful words. Yes, I'm not a fan of cynicism and think sarcasm cheap. But, I'm also sorry that in a book that's nearly 300 pages, composed of 800 aphorisms, he could not see the wit.

I like what you say about inciting interest and that ok, or the valley of mediocrity, is where things die. Trying to focus on that, and not take it too, too personally. One needs to have such thick skin in this "business" and yet it's our quivering sensitivity that makes us who we are. soft sigh... softer smile <3

ps -- it's late, and I hope you're asleep. But now your idiot friend has gotten himself locked out of discord (I know password but not how to work my 2 authenticator code). If you have time, tomorrow, perhaps you might drop an idiot-proof line or two at: [email protected] ? Sweet dreams, Guy _/|\_

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73