You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: April 11 - Some thoughts

in #esteem5 years ago

I was just thinking on this topic earlier, indirectly. I was thinking about how popular depression has become in the medical community. Anyone that seems to be struggling with their feelings can simply take a pill (not to discount people that are severely suffering). Seems simple enough - either you are depressed, or you aren't. Sounds wonderfully black and white, like truth or lie. Only it isn't, because being depressed begins to be a grey area when the word is mentioned so much in society. It starts to filter into the back of the mind. Do my feelings of sadness right now mean that I am depressed? Which is certainly a very scary thing to be and means I need medication. Doubt is a grey area, and certainly is an evil thing. Planting the word "depression" everywhere, enables companies to make a lot of money off of that grey area. Anyway, enough rambling. This just made me think of my thought process earlier.

Your dinner looks delicious.

Sort:  

The dinner was very good. I just finished a meatball sandwich 🥪. Hahaha

Depression has a very wide range. We also cause our own depressed state. I also think there is a difference between depression and a sense of hopelessness.

While fitting and thinking about this I saw 2 commercials advertising drugs for depression. This is a serious matter. Pedaling drugs is not the way to deal with it.

I could go for a meatball sandwich. Now you've planted that seed in my head :)

Hahaha
Don’t forget the milk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3154.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86