You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: March 13 - RAISING TIDE RASES ALL BOATS - BUT SHOULD IT

in #esteem5 years ago

My guess is, @wolfhart, those of who did stick around will rise to the top, because we'll have more visibility, more people to engage with, and ultimately more earning power.

I have my concerns about all of these redfish to minnow related initiatives calling for upvotes, too, mainly because they seem to be making a cart blanche call—like everyone is the same, and all content is the same. I can't find fault with those who are trying to help others, though. They're good people with more trust than I.

I just hope they don't get burned because the ones they're helping can't be helped or don't do much to help themselves. We'll see. In the meantime, I'll keep doing what I'm doing, which is manually curating what I see and what I feel has earned my upvote. :)

Sort:  

I'm glad you've said this. I was thinking similar things but I didn't want to be the party pooper. The initiatives themselves are very good and well intentioned... But the are many people who are all too happy to take advantage of others...

Well, @bengy, I find myself continually being the party pooper, so that's okay. It's leftover from when my boys were young and couldn't do everything they dreamed of because dear ol' dad wouldn't let them. Now, I get to unleash those 'party pooper' skills on STEEM. :)

I don't know if I'm totally in agreement with the initiatives, either, but I understand and get behind the intent. Helping people isn't really the issue. I think that's good. It's how, and to what extent. Preferably, it wouldn't be at the expense of one's own growth, or with solely the mentality that, oh, I've got their backs, someone else higher up will have mine. I think that's being demonstrated regularly to not always be the case. So, I end up feeling bad for those who are willingly doing all they can to help others, but really aren't getting much in return.

I know everyone should be an adult and should know what they're getting into and should reap the consequences, good or bad, of their decisions. But good should be rewarded better in those cases. I just don't know how.

re: those taking advantage

That's very true, and unfortunately, I think there's an expectation that it's gong to happen. I don't know if it's being noised about that if you go to this community or that person they will help you, so people show up with that idea in mind, or what. But at some point I would think that there's just too high expectations, too many people participating and not enough oomph behind the initiative and the next thing you know, discontent all around.

So, anyway, the intentions are good. It's how to make it worthwhile for those who are helping that becomes the question without the best of answers.

So will I .
I get what they are trying to do. It is just sometimes we look at the goal instead of how we get there. I was just throwing some things out there.
The redfish league has good data to go with. But you also have to look at who powered down if that is even a qualifying factor.
What are the qualifying factors ? What are the goals ?
Just some things to consider on such a large scale.
It is a Nobel goal !!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88