You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Hawk-Statue Friday

in #esteem6 years ago

howdy there melinda010100! oh my! I love native American stories. So he led his whole tribe back, it sounded like and they were not welcome. That statue is massive! I really like that.

Sort:  

Many white settlers had taken over their gardens while they were away. Abdrew Jackson and Abraham Lincoln both fought in that war. As a matter of fact Lincoln had his horse stolen from him not too far from here. Much of the war took place all along my River.

what in the world? Andrew Jackson and Abraham Lincoln both fought in that war? I didn't know that either one of them were soldiers!

And I thought that was in Illinois not Wisconsin? I'm lost.

It started in Illinois and they chased Blackhawk and his people- including women and children up the river.. they made a river crossing just a ways up from my house and camped at places very near here. They traveled across southern Wi heading back toward the Mississippi River but the soldiers caught them there and most all of the tribe was slaughtered.

oh wow. So this was another horrible disaster by our government that never should have happened. Well that's depressing but interesting so thanks so much for filling me in on this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62120.17
ETH 3179.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75