You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shaker Village in Canterbury, NH

in #esteem6 years ago

howdy there melinda010100! aren't the shakers an interesting group?
I remember visiting a similar looking set of buildings in Kentucky for the Quakers or maybe they were Shakers too. I think they died out pretty fast because they had that celibacy thing going on. I remember the men and women slept in different areas to keep anything from happening and I thought their whole theology was very short sighted! lol.

But what an interesting post with wonderful pictures!

Sort:  

I think Pleasant Hill is in KY. That is also a historical Shaker community. I always wanted to visit there, too, but never did

yes that sounds very familiar indeed. It was a very interesting visit to that place and of course their sect gave birth to the Shaker furniture style which some people love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83