You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dangers of Texting

in #esteem6 years ago

If they don't have the foresight to understand why texting while driving is dangerous, they should be behind of a car's wheel - but the rear wheel.

I text all the time, if you count Discord as a texting application, then that's it. As someone who live actively in quite an amount of servers, it's indeed not hard for me to see how texting can be dangerous sometimes.

Communication is two-way thing and it is certain for the receiver to have some response after getting the information (if this is not the case, reconsider your communication method, or go slap my business communication lecturer), and the response can be in many formats - they can be response in text, speech, facial expression, tone, small acts that reveal their state of mind, etc. Texting just transmits text, and nothing else, so the complete information cannot be transmitted perfectly. It just happens all the time when someone says that "it's a joke" but the next second they get a mute from the server moderator. Some voice will automatically read the text we see in our mind and it can be drastically different from what it was intended to sound like.

It is indeed very easy to misunderstand or stuff like that when texting, but sometimes it is helpful for me...like, the lecturer won't know that I am trying to hold my emotions when replying to her. Lmao.

Anyways, texting is already something tightly integrated into most people's life, so it's something that depends on how we look at it. I sure hate it when people don't know that they are being a dick, but most of the times we'll just live on with it :)

Sort:  

This was an excellent analysis and breakdown @lilacse
Thank you for this well thought out response. It was clear, concise, and not confusing in it's context in any way!
I believe it is something we are all guilty of, reading things wrong because of mood, or other contributing factors. I'm reminded of a time, when I made a critical error with one of my friends here on the blockchain, and misconstrued meaning. It could have cost us our friendship, and I ended up feeling very guilty for my assumption.

they should be behind of a car's wheel - but the rear wheel.

hehe, indeed friend, well put.

Texting just transmits text, and nothing else, so the complete information cannot be transmitted perfectly.

Absolutely, it amazes me that some people have a hard time understanding this aspect. I have encountered times, when a person would literally NOT believe me (regarding context/inflection), because of the narrative they created in their mind!!!

Anyways, texting is already something tightly integrated into most people's life, so it's something that depends on how we look at it.

It is the preferred method of communication in society now (digitally speaking), if the statistics are accurate. I agree, that how we view it is very important, and to add to this, I think education regarding the nature of communication in text should be considered as a standard in school's today. We had no need for such education when I was a child, but times have changed.

Your presence is always valued and appreciated, as well as your opinion. Thank you for stopping by lilacse! 😀

PS, emojis help 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81