Nafplio, Greece- Travel tales

in #esteem6 years ago

More old photos from a long ago trip to Greece.

These are old film photos. I would love to redo this month long trip today with a proper camera, but I am happy to share these old travel memories!

My first evening meal in Greece was at a restaurant table in a narrow street with this pair of musicians serenading us through the evening. I was not immediately aware of the rest of their audience on the balcony above, but suspect this was where she spent many evenings. I don't remember the meal, only the dessert. It was the first time I ate Greek yogurt with walnuts and delicious honey on top, but it was not the last time!

image

image

A view of Akronafplia Fortress in Nafplio Bay.

image

This impressive statue of General Kolokotronis is in the park. He was instrumental in the uprising and revolution against the Ottoman Empire during the war for Greek Independence.

image

A view of Palamidi Fortress. They say there are 999 stairs to reach the top. We took a horse and carriage ride part of the way, but still had more than a few steps to climb!

image

What a surprise it was to hear a piper filling the old part of town with bagpipe music! He did attract some attention!

image

Syntagma Square, with its polished marble is the heart of the city and is where the day starts for many people with a cup of coffee. It is where we went to exchange money and to make arrangements for our rental car so that we could leave town and begin our 3 week tour of the Peloponnese Peninsula.

image

image



To enter this week's Shadow Contest

Shadow Photo Contest Round 34-Chair Shadows

The Shadow Photo Contest is a @photofriend supported project.

Picture1.png

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

If you are already using eSteem on your phone or the wonderful new esteem Surfer on your PC, be sure and use #esteem as one of your tags, post original content and write at least 50 words for the possibility of an upvote from @good-karma !

Posted with eSteem

)
image

>

Sort:  

Old is gold
It's amazing pictures i like old and classic movie

some amazing pictures look special I like it.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Que bueno recordar cosas de el pasado amiga, cómo dice un dicho acá en mi país recordar es revivir saludos bonitas fotos

What beautiful memories and a lovely country my brother in law is from Greece and i am from Italy very similair culture great foods and happy countries to be in they know how to eat and enjoy. Love the old film B&W looks so more realistic i haven't been there but would love to one day :)

Definitely poto fondest memories difficult forgotten.

I love the photos of places, trips, landscapes ... thanks for sharing. Greetings.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=melinda010100
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=nafplio-greece-travel-tales-c1d3ee92268c2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Well ... beautiful Greece! I'm totally in love with her and I'm sorry I discovered it so late. What beautiful memories, @melinda010100. I am a fan of memories, I even intended to launch a challenge about memories and photos, I told Denise but she told me it looks a bit like "ulog", I do not know if you know this tag.
Thank you for showing me your Greece!

Do your challenge! Not all of us do ulog. I think memories sounds like a great idea! And if it is not successful what'd you have to loose! You just come up with a different challenge!

Thank you! You are very kind to encourage me. Yes, of course...nothing to lose! I only think that after a year in Steemit I have enough experience for this.

You may not have taken these pictures with a good camera like now, but they are great photos and I'm sure you enjoyed this beautiful trip so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61699.33
ETH 2887.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47