You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Once Bitten, Twice Sly" — My New Diet After Lyme Disease

in #esteem6 years ago

I once worked as a surveyors assistant. We would trek though the wilderness and marshlands, doing our thing, surveying land for potential protected areas to be set aside for wildlife habitat.

I came out of a ditch one sunny afternoon, looked down, I was covered in ticks. Hundreds of them. I'm not exaggerating. Hundreds. Luckily I was dressed for it. My pants were tucked into my socks, things like that.

They're quite common here though. Little vampires.

Sort:  

It's crazy how easy it is to get bit though, of course, not all tics carry the Lyme disease.

It would help if I paid more attention; for example, they say dressing in white helps, to spot the suckers. And, yes, socks, boots, long pants, etc... But, I'm lazy and just run out as I am.

Worse, I don't see particularly well and am impatient with details. Meaning I don't check my hairy body as thoroughly as I should after being outdoors :p More reason to stay indoors and curl up with a book!

I've been bit plenty of times. Still living though! Once I feel that crawly feeling, and remove the tick before it can bite, I become paranoid. It feels like I still have bugs on me, I look, there's nothing. Drives me nuts!

Yeah, mercifully, only some ticks carry diseases... But, if you experience any long-lasting, unpleasant symptoms, it's probably a good idea to get it checked out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84