You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mixed feelings about steemmonsters! And a decision!

in #esteem5 years ago

I have the same doubts as you have. I don't believe in the sustainability of the game anymore. They have made it so hard for beginners to grow their deck without investing a truckload of money, there is only a small instream of new people. Without new blood, the game has no future.
I heard from Matt himself that they are aiming for investors, which I do get, as business is business.

But every change they make is beneficial for the top players only. Yesterday there was ydt another conversation about giving more incentives to the big players.

Not only is this entire idea the complete opposite of evdrything I stand for, I also think they have been giving a lot of people false hope.
Maybe it started out as something that was both for the fun and for the money (especially for Matt, i hear). But somewhere along the way it became all about the money.

I'veen going back and forth about selling everything but my main deck. I simply can not decide. I feel more betrayed every day again.

The rewards cards this season are definitely distributed in a different way than last season. I have been ralking to some others, and none of us got even a single legendary. Heck, I can even count the number of epics on my two hands.

The thing is that I've only just started to learn the rules that are important when lining up your team, and I'm getting better every day.

But I won't be investing anymore, for sure. I've lost all my respect for both founders, and I'm not willing to pay for their fancy cars anymore, so to speak.

The absolute lack of good marketing to the world outside of SteemIt makes that the player base gets smaller instead of larger. I stopped playing my level 1 decks, exept for the one I'm running an experiment with in which I want to proof that once again, people who can't afford toi invest don't stand a single chance to grow their deck, and are being locked out. It feels like steemit's HF20 all over again. Just like STiNC, they don't give a damn about the little guys. All they can see and want is cold, hard cash.

I haven't has time to check out the new Drugwars game, but I have the feeling it will wipe SM off the table.

And although I love to play, I think they deserve to be overpowered by some other game.

Og boy, I'm just going to stop here, because once I get started, I can't stop anymore. There are so many things that are so completely wrong... they've just lost touch with reality.

Maybe I'll finally start selling tomorrow. There's no way that will result in a positive ROI, but I have the feeling it will only get worse....

Sort:  

Thanks for your perspective. A lot of truth in here!
I can understand that they do have to run it as a business. They will have some competition from drugwars for sure.
I do play most of the time against the same players which was an eye opener. That's why I decided to sell my gold foil unicorn way to cheap. I just didn't want to risk being stuck with it!
Cheers,
Peter
Ps how is the back?

Sorry for the late reply.
The back is still not OK, but a lot better than a couple of months ago. Thanks for asking.

I put up all my gold foils for sale - mostly commons and rares, nothing really valuable, but it is not easy to sell cards at the moment. So many people are leaving the game.

I still haven't decided on what to do with the rest of it. I've been told to be patient - that once the automated tournaments are out, some things will be improved to make the game more enjoyable for everyone, so I decided to with a little longer before I sell everything. I guess a little hope can't do no harm.... :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63042.71
ETH 3175.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81