Web Browser.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #esteem5 years ago

Web Browser.

I was intrigued to see how my original photo of a Golden Orb Weaver and its web turned out after applying texturized digital effects and found the 3D effect very appealing.

Golden Orb Spiders. Australia’s Golden Orb Weavers are very large spiders. They weave metre-wide webs which are most effective for catching very large insects. The three different species belong to the genus Nephila and two very similar ones are N.plumipes and N.edulis. For identification purposes, the N.plumipes has a bright yellow sternum or chest area. The third species, known as Nephila pilipes is often called the Northern or Giant Golden Orb Weaver and is much easier to recognise. They have slimmer bodies than the other two with longer legs and they have a yellow sternum and knee joints.

2 WM f COBWEB SE png-.jpg

The females are characterized by their grey-brown colour and wavy markings situated on the underside of their abdomens. Their webs resemble a messy string of debris. Golden Orb Weavers are commonly found in the warmer regions of the world such as Africa, southern United States, South America and in the Asia-Pacific areas such as Australia. The females are much larger than the males and they use yellow silk in their conspicuous webs, choosing open spaces to suspend them.

Their webs are made in a classic wheel shape with threads resembling spokes which radiate out from the hub of the web. The stiff outer frame of the webs are connected to trees, wires or other supporting structures that can be spaced apart by many meters. Lying across these strong spokes are the finer, more elastic threads which circle around the hub in parallel rows.

Here is another digitized image of the same spider/web.

F Spider in web SE.jpg

These rows are have beads of glue-like substances which is used to catch flying insects. The strength and size of orb webs are recognised as remarkable feats of engineering within the animal kingdom. Once an insect becomes stuck in an orb web, the threads can stretch more than 2.7 times their original length whilst they absorb the energy of the insect. The untidy clumps of material that the female forms as a vertical chain are silk wrapped dead insects.

Source:

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

Posted using eSteem Surfer

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer for your support.

Wow! when I scroll along, I was attracted first by your picture, I thought it was crocheted or knitted, so I read. Amazing! beautiful nature's web...@trudeehunter

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for dropping by @jurich I'm glad you enjoyed this post. 🌻

Intriguing effects Trudee, almost like Mandelbrot images;
Me likee ha ha.. upvoted

I am not familiar with Mandelbrot images. I must have a look and see what you are referring to. Thanks for your kind visit and upvote.

Its definition and name are due to Adrien Douady, in tribute to the mathematician Benoit Mandelbrot.[1] The set is connected to a Julia set, and related Julia sets produce similarly complex fractal shapes.

Mandelbrot set images may be created by sampling the complex numbers and testing, for each sample point {\displaystyle c} c, whether the sequence {\displaystyle f_{c}(0),f_{c}(f_{c}(0)),\dotsc } {\displaystyle f_{c}(0),f_{c}(f_{c}(0)),\dotsc } goes to infinity (in practice — whether it leaves some predetermined bounded neighborhood of 0 after a predetermined number of iterations).

Thanks so much for taking the time to educate me. Much appreciated.

I hope you took this as I intended, the original comment was a complimentary
one, or meant to be so, all the rest I shared because I found it to be mind
Boggling and interesting when I first read about it. I hoped you would
As well. Keep on steeming my friend @trudeehunter

That is very fascinating, indeed.................I am always intrigued by spiders, lol .

Spiders intrigue me too, but not enough to get between me and my camera. lol.

I have taken photos of quite a few, lol.

We're just so brave aren't we? 😊

Amazing 3D effect! You are really good at this art!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your comments, I do enjoy doing it.

That's very kind of you @kaminchan Thank you.🌼 🌻 🌼

And... this is why I live in New Zealand! Well, that and I don't do well in heat. Though I hear you've had snow in Queensland. Any near you?

I understand perfectly Deb. I still struggle with the heat here in Summer and are learning to get along with all the creepie crawleys. There are a lot of positives here though. In regards to the snow, we did get a little in Stanthorpe last week which is about 3 hours away. Have a great week. How's the weather down your way?

That looks pretty cool.

Thanks @choogirl, it was fun to create.

haha! wow Trudee those digital affects are stunning! I don't like spiders when they get that big but I can admire them from here!

I'm not a fan of them myself, but when I am determined to get a photo of them I become a little reckless. lol

lol..well, but they aren't venomous are they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11