You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Missing the Fall (COM 41)

in #fall5 years ago

So delicious! I love acorn jelly too. But then, I also like buckwheat starch jelly, mung bean starch jelly and chickpea starch tofu (similar texture). Just naming a few alternatives to acorn jelly :P Yup, we are only allowed to eat 2 dried persimmons a day. Is the man in the sketch a pastor? Not Bernie Sanders right?

Sort:  

That's awesome. I didn't know your dishes are so similar to Korean @wittywheat. I guess we start with the same raw ingredients. I thought of you when I took the persimmon picture.

That guy I sketched was just a random sketch when I thought about my high school history teacher.

Dishes from Sichuan province are quite similar to Korean food due to usage of dried Chinese red peppers and Sichuan peppercorns. The difference lies in Sichuan peppercorns that produce a distinctive flowery aroma and tingling sensation to the tongue. People in Sichuan also enjoy fermented pickle, kind of like Chinese version of white or water kimchi. Chinese people use douban while Korean people use gochujang for stir-fry. Then, in Shanghai, it is common to eat stir-fry sticky rice cake. It's like deokbokki but stir-fried in soy based sauce. So yeah, plenty of similarity.

I didn't know there were so many jellies like that. Here in the USA all our jellies are made from fruit.

  1. Mung bean jelly or 凉粉,is a popular Sichuan delicacy
    mungbean jelly.jpg

  2. Buckwheat Jelly or Memil Muk is a Korean delicacy
    buckwheat.jpg

  3. Chickpea Tofu is popular in Myanmar. It taste very good with Korean or Sichuan savory spicy dressing. I'm pretty confident it goes well with cold peanut or sesame seed sauce with a touch of sesame and hot pepper oil :-)
    chickpea tofu.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83