Missing the Fall (COM 41)

in #fall5 years ago

Lily Pond

The last lily soaks in the autumn sun
She looks too perfect and round
Would you believe she came from a mold?

Tops

Apartments reach to mountain tops
Hard to tell where the skyline ends
And the mountain top begins

The sign says

Save some acorns for the squirrels
I guess they are not well fed
Chipmunks too
There are a few

Satisfied

The sign says not to pick the acorns but this is so tempting as the Korean grandmas
can make a really tasty acorn gelatin. It's one of my son's favorite foods
and a grandmother has to do
what she can do
to keep her
grand kids
satisfied.

She
said
she was
just picking a few
acorns for safekeeping
in her bag so the squirrles
and chimpmunks won't worry
about where to find some food tomorrow

These off trails are my favorite as they highlight the colors of autumn.

A little mountain garden is the best place to play a game of badminton,
as long as it isn't so windy.

These berries shine out color in an autumn green the violets cry
we are here the last color before the winter's dread.

The oriental radish is a nickname for those who have thick legs.
This radish will be cut to pieces and made kimchee.
Add some salt, hot pepper , ginger and wait...
You will see this one on my plate.

Oh, and dried persimmons, who can forget?
The snack of champions,
but don't eat too many
Or you will be constipate.

Do you know this guy?


All pictures here came from my cell phone except the one I scanned off my sketchbook.

It's Friday. Are you having fun yet?

I nominate @vdux and to write a funny haiku and @kingscrown to write something cryto funny for @comedyopenmic.

Love,

@mineopoly

Sort:  

Hi mineopoly,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Imagine that! I remember one time we were on vacation and we saw this chipmunk that was so FAT, I had never seen a chipmunk SOOOO fat. It was funny to watch it waddle around. : )
|/,,

American chipmunks must be well fed. I imagine they got their stash from Donald Duck.

Hahaha, I'm sure they did! : )
|/,,

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

So delicious! I love acorn jelly too. But then, I also like buckwheat starch jelly, mung bean starch jelly and chickpea starch tofu (similar texture). Just naming a few alternatives to acorn jelly :P Yup, we are only allowed to eat 2 dried persimmons a day. Is the man in the sketch a pastor? Not Bernie Sanders right?

That's awesome. I didn't know your dishes are so similar to Korean @wittywheat. I guess we start with the same raw ingredients. I thought of you when I took the persimmon picture.

That guy I sketched was just a random sketch when I thought about my high school history teacher.

Dishes from Sichuan province are quite similar to Korean food due to usage of dried Chinese red peppers and Sichuan peppercorns. The difference lies in Sichuan peppercorns that produce a distinctive flowery aroma and tingling sensation to the tongue. People in Sichuan also enjoy fermented pickle, kind of like Chinese version of white or water kimchi. Chinese people use douban while Korean people use gochujang for stir-fry. Then, in Shanghai, it is common to eat stir-fry sticky rice cake. It's like deokbokki but stir-fried in soy based sauce. So yeah, plenty of similarity.

I didn't know there were so many jellies like that. Here in the USA all our jellies are made from fruit.

  1. Mung bean jelly or 凉粉,is a popular Sichuan delicacy
    mungbean jelly.jpg

  2. Buckwheat Jelly or Memil Muk is a Korean delicacy
    buckwheat.jpg

  3. Chickpea Tofu is popular in Myanmar. It taste very good with Korean or Sichuan savory spicy dressing. I'm pretty confident it goes well with cold peanut or sesame seed sauce with a touch of sesame and hot pepper oil :-)
    chickpea tofu.jpg

I don't know that guy. Is it you????

I thought the Lilly flower comes from the Lilly pad. Did I read correctly that you say it comes from mold?

Here we have toooooooo many squirrels. They tear up our small vegetable garden and my aunt's flower garden. Looking for buried acorns or other treasures I guess.

☺👧👨🏃

Ha, you guys are awesome.

The first picture in this post is our neighbor's pond. He couldn't get any lilies to grow so he added plastic ones. The lily pads are real and so is the sunlight but the flower comes from a plastic mold. In Asia too many things come from a mold.

I remember the squirrels in my hometown they were nasty but the raccoons were worse.

That guy I sketched was just a random sketch when I thought about my high school history teacher. I don't know exactly what he was talking about but he talked a lot. I should have made more sketches when I was in high school. Instead I mostly stared at the ceiling and counted dots or tried to sleep with my eyes open. After school I was busy with football practice. I was smart enough to quite my second year. After that I hung out at kids basements and made noise we called "music."

Haha...I get it now!!

Wow, a plastic Lilly. That is funny.
Thanks

i dunno the guy but man i love the sign 😄
save the squirrels from 아줌마 & 아저씨!

It's just too cold out and inside our school. My office heater blows hot air from the ceiling but all hot air just goes up so my head is dry and dizzy and my feet are like ice.

Howdy there mineopoly! I've never had dried persimmons, I guess they're good? I've never had regular persimmons either. You have some wonderful pictures here. Oh, I've never had acorn gelatin either. I don't know if that sounds very good. It looks beautiful this time of year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14