You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A little bit about my early childhood

in #family6 years ago

Hello @solcross ,been following your posts for a while now and I must admit that I'm a big fan of your immense talent!

Growing up in the same country as you ,I have a rich bank of childhood experiences .Some rosy,others not .Quite surprisingly,the most striking of them all seems to fall into the latter category .I still remember it like it was yesterday.
While I didn't have the luxury of travelling around like you,we definitely have something in common! We moved around ,difference being mine wasn't exactly for a good cause.
While preparing for school one morning(was only 9) , our compound was invaded by military men and policemen ,requesting all tenants and landlord to evacuate the premises with their properties within 3hours as part of an immediate court order or risk being thrown out .

Long faces,deeply perturbed men,crying women,confused children ,feirce-looking soldiers,wailing dogs,stranded hens immediately transformed a sunny and bright atmosphere to a gloomy one.
My parents did manage to get me to school (in primary 4 then) but my young mind couldn't erase the flashbacks of the ugly scenario that had played out .Subsequently,everyone moved out(it was a big compound of over 3 blocks) and the edifice,locked and marked with a court case ID .
This doesn't annul the fact that I had quite a number of bright experiences growing up ,though we've certainly come a long way since then(thankfully),this particular incidence remains fresh in my memory .
Once again,i really love your posts and particularly,how you drive home your points in the most engaging manner.
Thanks for the chance to share this !

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this mate. I'm glad such an event was more like a stepping stone, rather than a stumbling block. Might have been difficult to fathom at the time, and could have ruined you, but here you are. I believe all positive childhood experiences, and those that teach us a lesson should be held onto. Most of what we experience in our childhoods, are the corner stones of our lives.

Brilliant entry, and thanks for stopping by. I'll get my old lady to upvote your comment. Can also self upvote as well. (bounty share)

Thanks for your kind words about me. I'm beaming mate.

You're right ,they also go a long way into shaping us into whom we become .Enviroment and experiences are very big influences .
Thanks for the kind words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83