A little bit about my early childhood

in #family6 years ago

In retrospect, I think my childhood was really great in a lot of ways, moreso based on the fact that I am originally from a third world country. Coming of age and seeing the struggle a number of people outside your circle go through just to eat, is crazy.

tricycle-691587__480.jpg source: Pixabay

As a little kid, I had this picture in my mind that every kid everywhere around the world had it like I did, or at least better.

We moved around a lot because dad worked for an oil and gas exploration company. He was even out of the country on official assignment when I was born( indeed, I can remember looking around and not seeing him.lol). So I guess I came to get used to seeing him when I saw him, and always having mum around.

I remember packing up and moving at least three times, before I turned 6. I probably got my love of travelling from moving around, and I do remember looking at the clouds in awe, whenever the journey involved air travel, or when we had to move through the country side/less inhabited areas. Seeing the clear blue skies, the hills/mountains gave me a sense of peace, and that is what also led to my dream of becoming a pilot someday. That never did happen for health reasons, but that is a story for another day.

I do recall playing outside with the neighbours kids-just finding a way to have pure fun once school assignments were done, or it was the weekend. Oddly, I hated sports with all of my being, and didn’t get won over to the other side, until I was 10.

I vaguely remember playing Commodore 64 with my siblings, but my memories about playing my Atari are fresher. Those consoles were huge back in the days.

There was this one time I was happily riding my bike, and somehow, someone let this massive dog of theirs out.

Just one bark got the fire in me ignited…..man, I switched gears on that bike like I was in a Bugatti Veryon. That dog chased me! It was almost catching up with me, and I abandoned ship and decided to trust my legs! Fear is truly a great motivator. Of course, I was screaming for help as I ran! Haha.

Just at the moment I thought the dog was gonna have a chunk of my ass, the owner or a member of his/her household came out and called out. The dog stopped in its tracks and returned home.

Phew! That was a close shave, I thought to myself. Looking back at the owner in disdain, with my chest still pounding, and my legs quivering, I went back, picked up my bike, went home and sat down like a good little boy, reflecting on what had just happened. I was stunned.…probably in a state of shock!

At the age of 10, after moving back to a previous city, I did enroll in a boarding school. It gave me a more balanced view on life, early enough…..and made me realise how blessed I was.

Indeed, I learnt a lesson not to take the little things for granted much earlier than many.

My life is beautiful :)

Life itself is truly beautiful in many ways.
elegant-1769669_1280.png
Oh by the way, I am gonna put a bounty on this post to foster engagement.

Would like to hear about your own childhood memories. What it was like in your country, and probably a little event that stands out.

This write-up was inspired by this post

Sort:  

Glad that dog didn't bite you, would have been so tramautizing. It's amazing how much of a product of our surroundings we are. Growing up in the suburbs leads one to a sheltered life even if you're a member of a large community. Growing up in a dense urban setting is definitely more eye opening. Being a fan of diversity and cultures I find an urban lifestyle preferable. It's interesting to reflect on it as you get older, not much literature exists about the suburbs but there is pleanty available comparing the city mouse to the country mouse. Love nature and getting away, but by that I mean far far away not twenty miles out of town away.

Indeed. Thanks for this lovely feedback. Upvoted

I dont miss my childhood that much - maybe the thing, that I dont have to worry about anything ...

I grew up in the US, so I'm sure my experiences aren't very interesting. Well, I grew up surrounded by the entertainment industry in California, so I suppose it's not normal for most kids to have childhood experiences with celebrities or being on movie sets. But at the time that seemed normal to me. It's amazing that kids have very little perspective on their own circumstances and how unusual they are.

I spent most of my childhood indoors, reading, imagining fantastic adventures in space and in fantasy lands that didn't exist. I loved using my imagination. I loved computers too, taking stuff apart and putting them back together. Most girls my age weren't into technology and building stuff, but I loved it. I never was that interested in Barbies, princess games, and Easy-Bake Ovens. I was deathly afraid of getting physically hurt and so I never learned how to ride a bike or skateboard or anything like that. But I did dream endlessly about the day that I'd get to go out adventuring on my own and seeing this whole big world without any supervision. Once I got old enough, I took every opportunity I could to travel.

I was smiling as I read this... I'm sure we would have been buddies, if we grew up in the same neighbourhood about the same time. Imaginations can take us anywhere.... I still use it alot. Thanks for sharing. Gonna check out your blog.

P. S: Like what I'm seeing, following. I love writers :)

I grew up on a dairy farm in the rural countryside of Vermont on the east coast of the US. It was my Grandfather’s farm and I was put to work as soon as I was able to complete a task reliably! One of my fondest memories is the first time I was allowed to go out and rake the hay alone with the tractor and rake after the morning milking. My Grandfather was in the field next to me raking so I wasn’t really by myself, but he was far enough away to give me independence but close enough to help if needed. I remember riding along on the tractor singing and whistling the theme song to “Green Acres” over and over again with a huge smile on my face! I was 11 at the time so driving on my own was a huge deal to me! I remember pulling the tractor and rake into my Grandparents’ dooryard under a big maple tree and hopping off with a permanent grin on my face headed in for lunch. I was a little sad because it was over but felt accomplished and eager for the next time. I don’t think my Grandad ever had a more eager field hand! I went on to run all the equipment eventually, but my first time has a special place in my heart. My Grandad has been gone for 8 years now and I have moved away from the family farm, but my Dad takes my kids for rides on the tractors when we go to visit and one day I will teach my kids to drive them as well. Thanks for the post @solcross, this was a great trip down memory lane!

Wish I could give you a bigger vote. Bless your grandpa's soul... And your kids getting to experience what you experienced is priceless.

Thanks for the resteem by the way. Following your blog. Cheers

Kindly share your thoughts here in the comments section. Regards.

Hello @solcross ,been following your posts for a while now and I must admit that I'm a big fan of your immense talent!

Growing up in the same country as you ,I have a rich bank of childhood experiences .Some rosy,others not .Quite surprisingly,the most striking of them all seems to fall into the latter category .I still remember it like it was yesterday.
While I didn't have the luxury of travelling around like you,we definitely have something in common! We moved around ,difference being mine wasn't exactly for a good cause.
While preparing for school one morning(was only 9) , our compound was invaded by military men and policemen ,requesting all tenants and landlord to evacuate the premises with their properties within 3hours as part of an immediate court order or risk being thrown out .

Long faces,deeply perturbed men,crying women,confused children ,feirce-looking soldiers,wailing dogs,stranded hens immediately transformed a sunny and bright atmosphere to a gloomy one.
My parents did manage to get me to school (in primary 4 then) but my young mind couldn't erase the flashbacks of the ugly scenario that had played out .Subsequently,everyone moved out(it was a big compound of over 3 blocks) and the edifice,locked and marked with a court case ID .
This doesn't annul the fact that I had quite a number of bright experiences growing up ,though we've certainly come a long way since then(thankfully),this particular incidence remains fresh in my memory .
Once again,i really love your posts and particularly,how you drive home your points in the most engaging manner.
Thanks for the chance to share this !

Thanks for sharing this mate. I'm glad such an event was more like a stepping stone, rather than a stumbling block. Might have been difficult to fathom at the time, and could have ruined you, but here you are. I believe all positive childhood experiences, and those that teach us a lesson should be held onto. Most of what we experience in our childhoods, are the corner stones of our lives.

Brilliant entry, and thanks for stopping by. I'll get my old lady to upvote your comment. Can also self upvote as well. (bounty share)

Thanks for your kind words about me. I'm beaming mate.

You're right ,they also go a long way into shaping us into whom we become .Enviroment and experiences are very big influences .
Thanks for the kind words :)

@solcross has set 2.000 SBD bounty on this post! logo_for-light-bg_1000.png
What is a bounty exactly?

A bounty is money sent to a post to be distributed to the users commenting on it. It provides a way to reward users directly and works in addition to the steem/sbd they receive from the blockchain. It works independently of SteemPower.

You create a bounty by sending any amount of sbd/steem to @steem-bounty together with a post-url in the memo.

How can I earn a bounty Users are then competing for the bounty by writing their answers to the post in comments that will achieve upvotes from the community and especially the bounty creator. The money of the bounty gets distributed to all top level comments of the post at the same time when the post is paid out (7 Days after it was written). How much everyone gets depends on the votes the comments received. The sender of the bounties votes are weighted higher so that she decideds where 80% of the bounty money goes and all other votes determine the rest.

@steem-bounty does all of this for you automatically. You can use this service to automatically pay out a challenge, ask a hard question or simply to reward the people that interact with you.

Read more about how it works, even in different languages here.

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  • @stwbll has earned 0.200 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 SBD from the community!
  • @danielwrites has earned 0.200 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 SBD from the community!
  • @malloryblythe has earned 0.292 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.092 SBD from the community!
  • @elleok has earned 0.210 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.010 SBD from the community!
  • @quantumsteemit has earned 0.200 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 SBD from the community!
  • @crypticat has earned 0.346 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.146 SBD from the community!
  • @zorank has earned 0.205 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.005 SBD from the community!
  • @sparkofphoenix has earned 0.148 SBD. 0.000 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.148 SBD from the community!
  • @angrytwin has earned 0.200 SBD. 0.200 SBD from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 SBD from the community!

Am I the only one who really starts missing childhood when listening to sad toned songs ?

You must have had an awesome childhood.

when we are child, our mind is less distorted with thoughts. We are more into experiencing life, either its fear or love !! I guess we all want to go back to or childhood at some point. growing up is quite a burden in present society. But Its great to hear that you had a happy childhood. Its a great blessing..!! I home you make the most of your life.

Indeed it is mate. Thanks for dropping by

One of the most fortunate things that can happen to you in life is having a happy childhood. Always remember it!

It sure is. Thanks for dropping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00