MAKING MEMENTOS USING PLANT PROPAGATIONsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #family7 years ago

Let's face it, life moves on, death comes, and precious loved ones pass away.


Though there is nothing that we can do to bring them back, our memories of them still live on. No one can take away the times that spent, the love that we had, or the joy that we shared.

During the time that @mama-pepper and I have been together, we have lost a lot of our grandparents. On our last trip to Texas, we got a few cuttings from some of the plants that grew at her Grandma and Grandpa's house, and we are in the process of rooting them so that she can have a living keepsake to remind her of them. I'll show you just how easy it can be in the video.

THE VIDEO

WRITTEN VIDEO SUMMARY WITH PHOTOS

This is more a sentimental process to make an interesting memento that happens to be alive. I know that sometimes relatives can fight over certain things that their passed loved on left behind, but in some cases, there can be more than enough to go around, if you have the right opportunity.

As I show in the video, the main plant that we were dealing with was a type of "Snake Plant," also known as "Viper's bowstring hemp," which is originally native to West Africa. These days, it is a common house plant in many areas, and in places like Texas, people grow it in their yards too. Just by cutting a short section of it (I cut it into about six inch pieces) you can propagate it.

If the cutting is placed into a jar of clean water, it will (hopefully) begin to root (plant on left in above photo). If it begin to root, then it will usually send up new growth as well (plant on right in above photo). The one of the left is one of the ones that I cut in the video, so all of those roots are new growth from the previous weeks.

Eventually, the whole bottom of the jar will most likely fill with new roots. At this point, you can plant it in a pot, for those in colder climates, or plant it directly outside if you live in a warmer climate.

In this photo, featuring cuttings from a plant at the house of @grandpa-pepper, you can see an excellent amount of roots and new growth. When it comes to plant propagation, this is one of the easiest. It is amazing how some plants have such a capability to survive, and how with a little knowledge, we can make our own for free.

Chances are that a lot of you may know someone who has a plant like this. If so, it is easy to start a new plant with just a small cutting. For us, we plan on keeping these cuttings for years to come. It'll be like having a small piece from the lives of our loved ones with us at all times.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-propagating-plants-to-help-remember-loved-ones


Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Nice

Upvote me plz u have very good power...bro

I've read this as "Making mentos USING PLANT PROPAGATION". And think - How he make mentos from this green something.))

me too !! lol i thought what have lady tonques because that is how we call them , to do with mentos ??? @papa-pepper did you know that this plant is known for its air cleaning ? they advice to put this plant in every office so there will be more oxygene in the air? sanseveria is their real name but i like lady tonques more... :-)

LOL that was my first impression as well, caught my eye. Great read, even if it wasn't minty fresh. :D

Reminds me of aloe vera.

I borrowed your idea and grabbed some seeds and cuttings from a Japanese Maple Tree at my parents' house and I am propagating them to distribute to siblings and kids. Below are some starter branches. I read that you need to start in moist soil and spray frequently. Also, below are seeds I collected from the ground which are red and seeds from the branches which are green. The red ones should work best. The seeds are strictly a backup in case the tree propagation fails. I also read that the branch starter will yield a genetically identical tree while the seeds will have genetic variations. Thank you for a great idea @papa-pepper (if you are interested in any Japanese Maple Tree seeds please let me know and I will send them...).

image

image

Nice you offered Papa some Japanese starter branches.
And the advice 4 which does best !

When my Nana was dying of cancer, she made a point of giving away pieces of all her beloved perennials in her garden to her kids and grandkids. She sent me home one day with a small pot-sized clump of daisies that have already grown into a big patch in the front yard, to the point that I'm ready to begin dividing them into other places. Every time I see them, I think about how much she liked them...and how she could not leave the poor things alone but kept dividing and dividing them constantly. Living mementos really are some of the most poignant.

Too true.

I feel/felt similar about my dear dad's hybrid roses

Amazing! I'm doing the same with succulents I've found on our rear driveway...The best part about snakeplants is that they're not just easy to propagate, but also take very little effort to maintain and are super healthy to have indoors as they produce a lot of oxygen and remove toxins from the air! Thanks for the share!

In my case, it was the FRONT DRIVEWAY -- and the #Plant was Hybrid Roses that my dad created.
He studied the subject & learned how -and his ROSES were the loveliest !

It's lucky that the snakeplant is so EASY to do . *Also: good contribution.. u may have helped someone w/ your remark abt this #plant removing toxins from the air

I love how I'm able to get plants I want this way but I had a lot of trouble keeping them alive when I transferred them into dirt. In frustration I finally started gradually adding dirt to the water. Just FYI!

I found this to be a useful way to transfer water-rooted plants also. They don't shock as badly when you get them into the pots.

Cool! Glad to hear @re-engineer was not alone!

They like to be root-bound too, so it can be best not to move them to a bigger pot once they fill it. Thanks for the tip!

It's great invented. Now you have a memory, it needs to breach. Good luck.

Great idea to keep the legacy alive. They will always be with you in spirit!

This is a great idea for both a memento, and to start a garden. Can you do it with aloe plants as well? My research says they are supposed to create baby sprouts, but I haven't found any on mine.

Aloes usually shoot new babies off of the root system. In time, you can carefully remove them and replant them elsewhere.

Nice explaination and good content vedio. To the chef i the house i think this will be an additional food you can give a try

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81