You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Long Lost Brother I Have Met For The Very First Time.

in #family6 years ago

After reading your story, the first thing that popped in my brain is, "ain't families grand?" (said in both my serious and sarcastic voices...LOL).

It sucks that things turned out the way they did with your bio dad - while the details are different, he sounds a great deal like my late father-in-law, and my hubby actually reached the same point you did with the boundaries. It's a hard thing to do, and many people don't understand ("but he's still your dad" as if that excuses everything), so I applaud you for making that tough choice.

And how wicked awesome that you've connected with your half brother! Even with his eyes closed (lol - sounds like something I'd do) he looks incredibly happy, and I'm so happy to hear you'll continue to get to know each other.

Sending lots of happy thoughts to you and your family!

Sort:  

Families are so grand! (in the same manner you have said it lol)

My father (step father) tells me most often that he thinks it's sad that he decided to miss out on my life. But then he said it's alright because he got to inherit me and be in his life and he wouldn't change it for the world. I love my step dad :D

A lot of people had said that to me, 'he's still your dad', even my own mother. Every time I have to remind people that anyone can be a sperm donor but not everyone can be a father. It was hard, I thought it would have been easier actually, but I also had to think - Would I want him to do the same thing to my kids? This grandpa that will send empty promises like visiting and calling but being a no show? That is all I ask is for people that love us, to just be present in our lives. It is what we would do ;)

Thank you for gift of time and happy thoughts! It feels good :)

Your step dad sounds like a gem! 😍

And that is exactly right - what would be the good in subjecting your kids to the same kind of treatment? Hubby tried for a while with his dad, but drew a line after an incident that involved our kids (all under the age of 6 at the time) and a drunk lunch at a restaurant (my father-in-law was the only one drinking, needless to say). When people asked our eldest (now an adult) if she missed having her "grampy" (quotes, because he so wasn't) in her life, she'd mention that last memory of him, then say, "not really."

And you're very welcome! Thanks in return for the happy chatting! 😊

I like to think of them as little personal reminders of how not to be or what to avoid for those reasons. Everything happens for a reason, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63762.28
ETH 3107.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84