Any fantasy fans out there?

in #fantasy5 years ago

Hey Friends!

I've recently completed a fantasy novel. It's been a long time in the works and with the current word count should run 400-500 pages.

Here's a synopsis:

Magic is disappearing from Emoah. Two hundred years after the mysterious appearance of these mighty potions, almost all of the original conjurers have died off or been killed in greedy pursuit of these priceless relics. Only two great mages remain. These rivals find themselves facing off against one another, yet again, when the Great Maal War is rekindled after more than a century. As the opposing armies make their preparations, the legendary sorcerer Osscov answers the call to fight alongside the righteous. Yet he must face the harsh reality that the war cannot be won without one particular spell which has proven elusive to him despite generations of searching. Whispers of a last remaining potion on the far side of the world forces a small group to make the perilous journey while the rest of the land prepares for what will be the greatest conflict the world has ever seen.

Emoah Map WIP 7.jpg

Of course, I'm looking at publishing options, but know the big guys are a tough road. I'm considering other avenues as well. One is a site called WattApp.com which is a big forum for writers and reader (more than 80 million users), but I don't know much about them or how to market on their site. Anyone out there with experience in that? They also offer a paid option where users can pay a little for each chapter they read.

I'm also thinking of putting up the first several chapters here on Steemit.

Any thoughts of feedback would be appreciated.

Sort:  

It definitely sounds interesting. I'm a big fan of fantasy, and reading this, it seems like it has all the elements to be great. Keep writing.

Thanks, Storm. It's a grind, to be sure, but I do love it.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

Thank you, brother!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @blewitt.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Can't offer your the advise on where to publish, but some tasters here would be good. Love the map!

Slobber,

Thanks for the interest. Actually putting up a few chapters on the WattApp site. Might start posting it here, too.... Would love feedback, but just happy to get eyes on!!

Hope you do, there's many fiction writers on here. I have a crack too but find it very hard.

I would be a big fantasy fan. Read a lot of books and like the sound of this one. I'd love to see the first couple of chapters published here to see how it goes and maybe look at "steemhouse publishing" who have already released a couple of books from STEEM authors. They should at least be able to give some advice on how to do it.

Have not hear of that. Very much appreciate the info. I think I will go ahead and post a bit here... see what peeps think...

There are several writers on steemit, some have gone traditional route to publishing, some to small boutique publishers, some to self publishing. @pibara has gotten some of his stories published, he might be a person with some useful insight as to how he went about it.

Publishing/serializing your story on steemit may provide some feedback, yes the down side is the 7 day pay-out window, but I have read a past payout story before and then sent the author some steem to his wallet, (granted not everyone would do that). If people like the story they may go out of their way and buy other works not on steemit, I have done that with a couple of Authors.

Also @mariannewest is a good place to start she has a lot of resources that may be of assistance to you also.

Post a few pages, see what kind of response you get, with the new push for quality content being published on Steem Block Chain, you may pick up a few of those new curation trails.

Bash,

Thanks! Very encouraging to see the community engaging. I posted on my personal FB page and barely a peep out of my friends and family. Seems Steemers are more loyal than my own family. But maybe it's me... :)

Hi Chood, I like the synopsis, and I LOVE a book with a map!

I think you meant to link to wattpad.com? Can't say I've heard of them, but my author wife is 'aware of them, but nothing more' she just yelled from the office...

I know a bit about publishing and the first rule for authors is: "If a publisher asks you for money: spit in their face then run for the door" (or words to that effect). Publishers are there to channel money from readers to writers, and in exchange the writers are there to produce books the readers want to throw money at.

There are writers organisations out there who can help you with advise, both artistic and legal (although I don't know about one in the fantasy market).

Getting a contract with a publisher is tough, there's no way around it, but a good publisher will give you an editor to work with to make your book easier to sell, and pay for a cover designer, and have it proof-read and hopefully marketed. You get less per sale than from self-pubbing, but you probably will get more sales to make up for it. The best route seems to be a hybrid of published and self-publishing for different book types (which is something Wattpad seems to be suggesting in their paid books section).

My apologies if you know all this already, but I hear about too many writers who deal themselves a bad hand by not investigating the industry, and not treating writing like a (very badly paying, but very real) job.

Probably worth putting a chapter or two up, for the beta reading experience. I'm certainly up for another slice of fantasy to read, and I promise only constructive criticism! :)

Good luck with whatever route you decide to take

I am going to the regular route, but know how unlikely that is. I learned about the "up front" money thing in the film biz as I've made a few indie films. Learned that dirty little trick thanks to a couple friends who got burned that way. A lot of shysters out there!

I very much appreciate the time and thoughts, brother! I will go ahead and post a little here - see what happens...

I don't read as often as I used to, or would like to, but this sounds like something that I would enjoy.

If you have trouble getting through a recognised publisher, is there an option to self publish and fund it via a Kickstarter or Fundition type campaign?

I'm going to try the "traditional" route, but I know how stacked the odds are against it. I'm going to post the opening here to see what kind of feedback I get. Very grateful from the people here who have taken the time to reply!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60